Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:36 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

First off, I'd like to announce that we got quite the performance increase when it comes to RTAS instances in PT 8.0!

We are now back to the RTAS plug-in instance count that we had in 7.3 which we lost after taking a huge hit in 7.4 with the arrival of elastic audio.

But, for those who run the Dverb benchmark test during each new release to make sure we are not paying for downgrades and comparing your systems of course, you will notice quite a hit from 7.4. This may confuse some and give one the wrong idea that PT 8 just gave us a massive hit in RTAS performance and instances.

Though you will see quite the hit compared to 7.3/7.4 if you run the Dverb benchmark test in PT 8.0, this is not the case. The AudioSuite and TDM versions have always had chorus on the reverb in the Hall and Church settings in the algo. This chorus was never in the RTAS version because it pretty much takes up twice the host CPU power. The RTAS version of Dverb in PT 8.0 now has chorus on the reverb in the Hall and Church settings which takes up more CPU power. Therefore, if you do a Dverb benchmark test to see were your system compares, it will be significantly lower and appear that we got a huge hit in plug-in performance but we didn't.

If you want to benchmark your system with PT 8 and see where it compares to older systems and versions of Pro Tools, then move the D-Verb.dpm and D-Verb.dpm.rsr files from the PT 8.0 Plug-Ins folder to the Plug-Ins(Unused) folder, copy/paste both the D-Verb.dpm and .rsr files from 7.4 into your PT 8.0 Plug-Ins folder and run the D-Verb benchmark test. Doing so, you will notice that we got quite the increase in plug-in instances in PT 8.0 back to what we had in 7.3.

If you're running a session created on an earlier version of Pro Tools in 8.0 using D-Verb, you can replace the new D-verb with the older version from 7.4 to reduce the CPU hit if it's a problem.

My current stats from the following system:

- Asus P5K MB
- Intel Q6600 Quad-Core CPU
- SATAII System Drive and Audio Drives
- NVIDIA 8400 GS Graphics card
- 4G G.Skill DDR2-1066 RAM

PTLE 7.3.1cs6 - 278 RTAS Dverbs(The old Dverb without chorus)

PTLE 7.4cs5 - 255 RTAS Dverbs(The old Dverb without chorus)

PTLE 8.0 - 159 RTAS Dverbs(The new Dverb with chorus)

PTLE 8.0 - 278 RTAS Dverbs(The old Dverb without chorus)

Hope that info helps.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:45 AM
Matt Whritenour Matt Whritenour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Posts: 2,031
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

I never bothered doing a DaveC test with my newest computer because the session I did on my old computers that could just barely handle my mixes had no problem playing and gave me a crap load of extra headroom on the CPU to work. But this is really good to know. I haven't even looked at Dverb yet I was too distracted by all the new plugins, didn't realize it had chorus. I would be very interested if we can get people to do this once with the Dverb with and with out chorus, and once with the A.I.R. Reverb. I'm going to try it tomorrow and see what I get.
__________________
www.klarityrecordingstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:50 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,724
Smile Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

Excellent post Shane, restores my faith in the DUC and how brilliant it can be when used well.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do amazing things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:36 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

I probably am answering my own question, but whats the Dverb test? Do you create the max amount of tracks and see how many Dverbs you can plug in before it freezes?
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2008, 09:51 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmitchell1532 View Post
I probably am answering my own question, but whats the Dverb test? Do you create the max amount of tracks and see how many Dverbs you can plug in before it freezes?

There is a sticky thread at the top of this forum called:
PT Performance - Davec I & Davec II Tests

That describes the DVerb (or Davec I & Davec II) test.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.14.6 running Protools 2019.10.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:12 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

I'm not sure that its not time for a Dverb 8.0 to take advantage of the new standard track counts.

But yes with the new algorithm it will be like comparing apples to donuts.

And a BIG HAND to DIGI for improving RTAS (and all the coders and Beta testers toiling endlessly into the night)
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2008, 02:25 PM
bfx bfx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Switzerland / Germany
Posts: 248
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

Thanks Shan! Once again very useful information. I also want to put my hands on PT 8 and try it out myself. But the Digi website and store are so down (at least here in good old Europe)...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:24 PM
barismanco123 barismanco123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Planet Gong
Posts: 474
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

You should try being in good old Brasil.Internet here seems to habve a mind of it's own.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:18 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmitchell1532 View Post
I probably am answering my own question, but whats the Dverb test? Do you create the max amount of tracks and see how many Dverbs you can plug in before it freezes?
D-Verb Benchmark.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:43 PM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: Performance hit in 8.0...or increase?

So to sum it up - benchmark with the old DVerb = better performance. With new Dverb, a little worse.

Sounds reasonable-there'a always a trade off - more features, need more power.

Now, what about the AIR stereo verb? I think I like that one better anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Performance Increase Slashly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-29-2007 09:20 PM
Performance Increase, What should I expect? musicjon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-16-2003 09:17 PM
NEED ADVICE- How to Increase Performance imakesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 06-11-2003 01:15 AM
raid to increase hd performance? wizzes....! gergele 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-16-2003 10:55 AM
Does lot's of RAM really increase performance? bassmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-03-2002 02:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com