Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2020, 03:22 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Mixing from home, I'm using my Focusrite all day, everyday. I'm noticing that I get random pops and glitches when playing. Also, some random crackles when using headphones. I'll stop and playback the same area and and the audio is fine, no errors. I've tried adjusting HW Buffer and Disk cache and it's still happening. "Ignore Errors" is disabled. I've trashed prefs, still happens. Does a drive re-format sound in-order? Any other thoughts?

Trash Can Mac, 32gig ram, PT Ultimate 2019.10, Glyph USB 3.0 drive.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2020, 03:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,626
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

You are a long away from justifying a drive reformat.

Are the click in the recording or happening on playback? (edit: I see clearly on playback)

You tried disk cache... but don't leave it set to "normal" set it to a size that will fully cache your session. Look on the cache meter to see it go green. they start working in the session once it's fully loaded. Now it's set to the best it can be. No other setting makes sense unless you start to run out of memory.

Common cause of headphone "crackles" is faulty headphone socket connections or damaged headphone cable/wiring or sometime RF interference from cell phones, etc.. Are you sure that is not happening here. And it's also not a microphonic headphone volume knob. Give them all a good wiggle.

What sample rate are you running at?

Are you using the interface directly or via an aggregate device? Check Pro Tools has not opened an aggregate device, don't assume (and don't use/get rid of the aggregate).

Try playing back through built in output. Try removing interfaces, all USB peripherals etc. you can and just run the computer with built-in output.

Are you recording to the USB 3 Glyph. What file system? Remove the Glyph drive and try a session off the internal SSD (which will outperform the Glyph so much it's silly)... but I'll eat my hat if the disk is at fault but mostly I just want it removed because its an electrical peripheral connected to the computer.

What macOS version?

What buffer size are you running at now? What happens in you increase that?

If increasing buffer fixes it it might be a plugin issue... and you might need to end up troubleshooting plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2020, 09:00 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You are a long away from justifying a drive reformat.

Are the click in the recording or happening on playback? (edit: I see clearly on playback)
No, the clicks and glitches are not getting recorded
Quote:
You tried disk cache... but don't leave it set to "normal" set it to a size that will fully cache your session. Look on the cache meter to see it go green. they start working in the session once it's fully loaded. Now it's set to the best it can be. No other setting makes sense unless you start to run out of memory.
I've tried 9, 12, 20 gig

Quote:
Common cause of headphone "crackles" is faulty headphone socket connections or damaged headphone cable/wiring or sometime RF interference from cell phones, etc.. Are you sure that is not happening here. And it's also not a microphonic headphone volume knob. Give them all a good wiggle.
Quote:
What sample rate are you running at?
48k/24
Quote:

Are you using the interface directly or via an aggregate device? Check Pro Tools has not opened an aggregate device, don't assume (and don't use/get rid of the aggregate).
Direct.
Quote:

Are you recording to the USB 3 Glyph. What file system? Remove the Glyph drive and try a session off the internal SSD (which will outperform the Glyph so much it's silly)... but I'll eat my hat if the disk is at fault but mostly I just want it removed because its an electrical peripheral connected to the computer.
Yes. Extended Journaled

Quote:
What macOS version?
High Sierra 13.4.


Quote:
What buffer size are you running at now? What happens in you increase that?
Happens at 256, 512, 1024

Quote:

If increasing buffer fixes it it might be a plugin issue... and you might need to end up troubleshooting plugins.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2020, 01:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,626
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Mmm. So try those other tests. And an obvious comparison is to just play music from iTunes and see if you are hear problems there, though the same interface, and built in output. If it's only Pro Tools and it's in both the interface and build in output... then I'd try playing back a new session with just a stereo audio track and no plugins, adding in some plugins if that works. I'm trying to recall some weirdness with a plugin that did leave click artifacts, can't remember the one, but if that's the cause you'll find your one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2020, 05:55 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Might also want to see if there is a newer driver available for your interface: https://customer.focusrite.com/en/support/downloads

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2020, 09:28 AM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
Might also want to see if there is a newer driver available for your interface: https://customer.focusrite.com/en/support/downloads

Joel
No drivers for MacOS.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2020, 11:00 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

I made all tracks inactive except for a printed mix stem. There are no plugz or sends on the stem and it's going directly out to the monitors. It did give a minor pop/drop twice, which is not nearly as much as normal. I only stopped and started playback a couple times, but watched all 11 minutes. So, dunno.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2020, 06:44 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 453
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Try a different USB cable
Restart the interface
Try different headphones if you’re only using headphones
Check the system sample rate and any other devices you have hooked up to the interface.
Open Audio Midi setup in Mac OS. Make sure the sample rate of the interface matches that of your session. It should change automatically but it could have gotten stuck.
Check your session clock source and the focusrite’s clock source should be set to internal
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6572E200-6A02-4243-BF05-463490613215.jpg (64.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2020, 09:21 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

I used Quicktime to watch a mix bounce of the same 11 minute program and there were no pops or anomalies. So, it's definitely PT related.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2020, 08:42 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: Scarlett 2i4 pops/drops/clicks

Yeah, I'm at a loss. I've swapped USB cables, reformatted mix drive, and removed kexts and prefs that Focusrite support suggested. Still pops and dropouts. Guess it's time to upgrade the interface.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crackles and Pops in PT 11.2.1 w/Scarlett 18i8 BassGuyGG Pro Tools 11 1 04-06-2017 12:18 PM
Help!! Clicks and Pops at 96k RCN Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-16-2012 07:19 AM
Pops & clicks 8.0.3 rotoboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 36 03-19-2010 03:52 PM
clicks and pops RustbeltDan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-21-2007 08:52 PM
pops and clicks chahende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-12-2006 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com