Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2002, 08:47 AM
mozart mozart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 291
Default MAC OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 on first model 733/DVD

Yes, this is my question about which operating system is better to use with PT on first verson 733 G4? I've tried 9.2 on my old 9600/350, and I had a lot of problems. I'm about reinstall my computer, and I'm not pretty shure which system to use. Any advice? [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Mozart www.studiomozart.com
__________________
Pro Tools 11.2 HDX

Apogee Symphony I/O 32analog I/O
192 I/O (old) Digital

Hack pro i7 Six Core/ 32 RAM


Kostadin Kamcev - Mozart
www.mozartstudio.com
Clifton, NJ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2002, 07:15 PM
ripple FX ripple FX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 435
Default Re: MAC OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 on first model 733/DVD

AFAIK- OS 9.1 is the last OS that will run on a pre-G3, such as the 9600. All G3 and G4 machines can use 9.2 or later, according to the 9.2 install readme.

My 9600 is thus frozen happily at 9.1 and PT 5.1.1

HTH
__________________
http://www.ripplefx.com
Mac Pro 8 core 3.0GHz Harpertown
Magma PE6R4I - HD 3 Accel +1 Process
Control 24 - 96io - 1622
OSX 10.6.8 - PTHD 10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2002, 11:19 PM
TRIRATS TRIRATS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 22
Default Re: MAC OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 on first model 733/DVD

Hi,
I use the first generation G4/733, working mostly out of Logic with PT Hardware. Tried 9.2.x and went back to 9.1. - it seems that the newer macs run better with 9.2. - the older ones - which I just bought last April - seem to work better with 9.1.
Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2002, 12:43 AM
PastaViking II PastaViking II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: next door...
Posts: 750
Default Re: MAC OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 on first model 733/DVD

I would use 9.2.2 on a G4/733 (either version) because of the better Nvidia driver. Earlier versions exhibit strange screen redraw behaviour which you have noticed if you use BF 1176 for example...

When upgrading OS always remember to upgrade the firmware as well..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2002, 02:44 AM
lagasus lagasus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 375
Default Re: MAC OS 9.1 or OS 9.2 on first model 733/DVD

My experience is opposite to that of TRIRATS:

I was on 9.1 and after maxing out my PCI slots with a 3rd MIX Farm and an OASYS Card (no SCSI Card), my Mac started to hang on boot. I upgraded to 9.2.1, and all has been well. It might have just been an extension conflict that was cleared out by upgrading the OS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-2 model derker Eleven Rack 6 05-23-2011 03:02 PM
Amp/fx model list muziqman Eleven Rack 16 05-14-2011 11:36 PM
where is model # on G5? Lega Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-17-2004 08:05 PM
G4 educational model. JesseF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-02-2002 02:37 PM
HP Pavillion Model w/001 tylermg1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-13-2000 02:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com