Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 04-11-2016, 07:17 PM
eaccin eaccin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

I'm amazed at how unstable this PT12 is. I'm a PT user since 2001, it's ridiculous how bad the software is behaving. I've lost several hours of work for the past 2 weeks (since I got PT12) because of these bugs. Session crashes just by using clip gain, some plugins spike CPU usage, Propellerhead Reason not working properly, unfreezing tracks make session crash and so on. I've done everything support has told me to. Hope Avid releases an update soon!
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 04-11-2016, 07:31 PM
eaccin eaccin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

Even the crash report crashes HA HA
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:25 PM
rmoat rmoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default PT 12.5 constant AAE -9173 (12.4 works perfectly)

I had to downgrade back to Pro Tools 12.4.0 because Pro Tools 12.5.0 starting giving me constant AAE -9173 CPU Ran Out Of Processing Power errors. Regardless of changing the samples, and unchecking Dynamic Plugin Processing it would constantly do it.

Running a core i7-2600 with 16GB of RAM couple with the MBOX Pro 3, I had never dealt with this before until Pro Tools 12.5.

Watching the processes in the task manager, none of the cores even come close to being at max with 12.4

Anyone experience the same?

EDIT: The only plugin I am running is Vienna Ensemble Pro. I removed every single AVID plugin that comes with the Pro Tools 12 subscription. Perhaps Vienna needs to release a new plugin (not positive). I guess for now I'll stick with 12.4.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:41 PM
Drywsef Drywsef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rosevile
Posts: 234
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

Also very buggy here. This may be the buggiest PT i have used to date.
__________________
Win 10 - PT 2020.9.1 - HDX - Blue 192 - Prism Titan

i9 10900K, Asus Tuf Gaming Z490 Plus, Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB, NVIDIA 1070ti

OS/apps, sessions, and samples all on separate drives.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 04-11-2016, 11:05 PM
MediaBrain MediaBrain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

Just lost 2 hrs work due to a beach ball. For some reason the auto-save just stopped working 35 minutes into reopening the session (after another repetitive crash). What's the point of having an auto-save if it just randomly quits? This isn't a professional product. I expect my income earning tools to work.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 04-11-2016, 11:50 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 479
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaBrain View Post
Just lost 2 hrs work due to a beach ball. For some reason the auto-save just stopped working 35 minutes into reopening the session (after another repetitive crash). What's the point of having an auto-save if it just randomly quits? This isn't a professional product. I expect my income earning tools to work.
I have the auto save set to 3 min here. With one of the crash's I had today, I lost about 15min or so worth of work. So I'm thinking something is wrong with autosave in 12.5.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:11 AM
Nearlymen Nearlymen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wiltshire, England
Posts: 79
Default Re: PT 12.5 constant AAE -9173 (12.4 works perfectly)

Same here and if you trawl through the forum it seems a lot of others are having similar problems. Best to stick with 12.4 if its working well and wait to see what happens.

Cheers

Clive
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:15 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,161
Default Re: PT 12.5 constant AAE -9173 (12.4 works perfectly)

These are the latest versions:

Vienna Ensemble PRO 5 – build 5.4.14074 – released Feb 6th, 2016
https://www.vsl.co.at/en/Software/VEPRO_5



eLicenser Control (eLC) updated to Version 6.9.3.1185 – released February 29th, 2016
http://www.elicenser.net/en/latest_downloads.html
Supported operating systems:
Windows 7 (32/64-bit), Windows 8 (32/64-bit), Windows 8.1 (32/64-bit), Windows 10 (32/64-bit)
Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5 is required!

Mac OS X
Mac OS X 10.8.x, 10.9.x, 10.10.x, 10.11.x
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.12 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:36 AM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,341
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

When you uninstall and then install a new version of Pro Tools, I believe that the default setting is with auto save disabled. How crazy is that. I'm pretty sure your lack of a recent back up is caused by that FACT. And do you know how I know that? Right. It happened to me too. Who is designing this software anyway? The level of common sense that is present is shockingly low.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 04-12-2016, 01:42 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: 12.5 is failing badly.

I've posted a few times now that 12.5 is "one of the good ones" for me. But even allowing for the forum effect of skewing problems, there are clearly some relatively common issues that are causing havoc for some, and I'm one of the lucky ones. So repeatable diagnosis is the holy grail here.

I find Avid's support frustratingly slow, and a number of times I've simply given up after months of back and forth on an issue. But I have had successes too - my issue of the video engine hanging when selecting less than a frame was duly logged only a couple of months ago and fixed in 12.5. So what I'm saying is - however frustrating the process is, taking issues to Avid support has to be the way to go, as opposed to just screaming "FIX IT". But the DUC can certainly help there - it can be far, far quicker to crowd-source what triggers a problem by pooling resources than relying purely on Avid Support. Then hopefully you can go to them with solid reproducible steps on a particular system.

Hope those who are suffering can isolate some triggers that cause instability sooner rather than later.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 02:41 AM
Error AAE 9173! Urghhh!!! Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 9 06-12-2015 01:28 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 10:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-30-2014 12:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com