Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2019, 09:40 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 26
Default Avid Digidesign PRE

Fellow HD TDM Users:
Can any one please share your personal experiences with the Digidesign 8 Channel Mic/Line PRE? Which applications did you use it for? Tracking Vocals? Instruments? Did you run any Line Level gear thru it? (Keyboards, Sound Modules, Drum Machines, DJ Mixer) What did you like or not like about it? Did you use any particular Microphones (dynamic or condenser) to obtain a better sound? Any plug-ins/effects come to mind that helped "color" and achieve the sound you were looking for? Thanks in advance.

AR

Last edited by Al Rayder; 05-23-2019 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2019, 10:18 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,065
Default Re: Avid Digidesign PRE

Lots of past comments on DUC about the Pre if you search.

Google is best, use a

site:duc.avid.com

Tag in the search string to keep the search here.

—-

It is not a high-end preamp... lots of other choices out there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2019, 05:56 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Avid Digidesign PRE

I'm with Darryl on this. Its clean and quiet enough, but lacking in "character". The biggest reason to use it is the convenience of controlling it from PT and saving settings with sessions. If you don't currently have any "money channels", that would be more important to me(by "money channel", I mean a handful of preamps that give the best results on your "money inputs" like vocals, kick, snare, bass(there's a reason that Neve and API preamps and clones are so popular)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid/Digidesign 96 I/O x 2 audiovalleysteve Buy & Sell 0 04-26-2014 08:17 AM
Digidesign VS AVID Tonewrek macOS 22 10-27-2011 05:33 AM
Avid VS Digidesign andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-05-2010 06:51 PM
is an avid 888 the same as digidesign 888? InSights7 Tips & Tricks 1 04-27-2001 12:13 AM
is an avid 888 the same as digidesign 888? thefly General Discussion 0 04-27-2001 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com