Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Old 01-05-2021, 01:19 PM

Default Stuck at the First Hurdle - retrieving 'saved' project

Hi there:

I am brand new to using Pro Tools First and have become stuck right at the start...

-I have begun with 'Create' a project and successfully recorded a couple of test tracks.
-I assume, I have done this correctly in that I am able to visualise the sound input and am able to listen back to these tracks
-I then have named the project and clicked 'Save' under File

However, upon subsequently reopening of Pro Tools, I am met with the welcoming window which lists the names of projects available to 'Open'. When I click on 'Open' nothing happens... I have tried this several times and have never been able to access recordings made on a previous session...

It is curious that while my project titles are saved and displayed, and I am given the opportunity to 'Open' them, but I cannot actually open or retrieve any recordings...

It seems like the most rudimentary step that I am missing - perhaps my recordings are never actually being saved or perhaps they are 'there', somewhere, but I cannot retrieve?

Any advice for a confused newbie!?
Old 01-06-2021, 11:22 AM

Default Re: Stuck at the First Hurdle - retrieving 'saved' project

I guess first let's see if your problems are related to projects in general or if they are not backing up to the cloud properly.

I would try to create a new project, this time make sure the backup to cloud checkbox is NOT checked.
Add a couple of test tracks, record some audio, MIDI or whatever you want to test out. Then, like you did, File -> Save. After saving, choose File -> Close Project, which will close the project, but not PT.