Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2012, 02:07 PM
derhamm derhamm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Default To RAID or not to RAID in Mac Pro 2009

I'm using a Mac Pro 2009 2.66Ghz 8 core with two 400GB OCZ enterprise grade SSDs in bays 1 and 2, and two WD Caviar Black 2TB drives in bays 3 and 4, plus a 4TB Hitachi Deskstar drive in one of the optical bays. I'm doing work with Final Cut Pro X and Pro Tools 9 (which I need to find out if ProTools works with RAID well). How would you RAID or not RAID these five drives if you had this set up? Initially I was going to RAID 0 the two SSDs as boot drive (800GB) to give me 500MB/sec reads and writes (Mac Pro 2009 has SATA II), RAID 0 the two HDDs for media storage (4TB) (not sure what speed benefit I'll get there with SATA II and HDDs in RAID 0), and then use the 4TB HDD as backup for all of my data (with Super Duper on a nightly schedule)

But maybe I should go without RAID and use one SSD as boot drive, one SSD as current Pro Tools session data drive, and the two HDDs as media storage either RAID 0 or separate partitions. Thoughts?

Mac Pro 8 core 2.66GHz (2009)
24GB RAM
ATI 5870 Graphics
(2) OCZ Deneva 400GB SSD's
(2) WD Caviar Black 2TB HDD's
(1) Hitachi Deskstar 4TB HDD
Pro Tools 9.03
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2012, 02:41 PM
peterle peterle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Berlin , Germany
Posts: 469
Default Re: To RAID or not to RAID in Mac Pro 2009

...so far i know..
(software-)raid is not supported with protools
maybe its different with a raid-controller (hardware)

regards
__________________
foley artist , soundeditor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2012, 09:49 AM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: To RAID or not to RAID in Mac Pro 2009

Software RAID is definitely not supported. If it were me, I would purchase two- 2 Bay external RAID enclosures. Put the 2 OCZ's in one and the 2 WD's in the other. If your goal is to get increased bandwidth for higher track counts, better video streaming, etc. then set them to RAID 0. If you are looking for redundant backup, set them to RAID 1 and the two drives will show up as one and the second drive will mirror the first.

Just remember that external RAID enclosures are like most things in life, cheap ones are cheap... so do your homework.

Then I would use the Deskstar purely as a backup drive for currently active projects.

My 2 cents.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To RAID or not to RAID...that is the question Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 50 01-16-2005 07:27 AM
001, IRQ and RAID... Erik Galindo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-02-2003 11:07 AM
On Board Raid or PCI Raid Adapter ??? Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-21-2002 06:16 AM
Raid jjmx3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-08-2000 06:57 PM
When is a RAID really a RAID? Will this increase track count? ThomCat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2000 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com