Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2011, 07:07 AM
BroomPole BroomPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 96
Default Random Crashes after adding LAN

Recently upgraded from Pro Tools LE 7.0 on 10.4.8 (Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 dualcore)

For Two years have been running Metalan client for video playback, and file transfer. (Never record or read audio from LAN drives, just transfer).

New setup is Pro Tools 8.0.3 LE on 10.5.7

System was running very smoothly for two weeks. Once the LAN clients we were re added, I'm getting a lot of crashes. Pro Tools will freeze (Beachball). Other applications still work but computer has to be hard Re boot to regain access to Pro Tools.

These crashes seem to happen in three different places.

Crash on launch
Crash on session launch (usually the second or third session I launch)
Crash on Import Audio (While locating audio, not actually importing)

Curious if anyone else has similar issues and work a rounds?

Worst comes to worst I will have to remove LAN access. Trying to avoid that though as it more then doubles the time it takes me to complete work.

-Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 04:59 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Random Crashes after adding LAN

Yes seen this on 8.0.1cs3 and reported it to Avid.

Workaround: Hang a network device (ended up with the Euphonix MC Mix on one system, but essentially anything with a limiting IP usage; small switch with a firewall preventing TCP/UDP from all but HTTP should work fine) from the second Ethernet port, set Satellite to use this port and it should speed everything back up to normal.

Client wasn't trying to use Satellite or Vid Satellite but PT would hang for 15-20 minutes while it searched the network for these services. setting it to look for the services on the secondary port meant that while it still looked, it very quickly found nothing and then continued as normal.

Not an ideal situation but then workarounds never are.

Hope this helps,

C
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 11:11 AM
BroomPole BroomPole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 96
Default Re: Random Crashes after adding LAN

Upgraded to 8.0.4 CS2 and so far everything seems normal again (Fingers crossed).

-Kevin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Same random crashes in PT 10 that were in PT 9 Stay Where I Can macOS 0 11-29-2011 09:53 AM
Random Crashes PT9.0.3 polebarn studio Windows 10 09-19-2011 12:24 PM
velvet adding random hit ... buzz kill john1192 Virtual Instruments 0 02-26-2010 09:40 PM
Random PT 7.3.1 crashes sashbash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-14-2007 12:53 PM
Bug? : Random Mixer Level jump after adding Plugin Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 10-19-2006 06:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com