Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2011, 02:34 PM
alexruimy alexruimy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
Default eleven rack stops responding

this has been going on for about two months now. my computer will completely stop playing audio (never during a PT session tho) at some point. 40% of the time i can turn off the eleven rack and turn it back on and things will go back to normal, but most of the time i have to reboot the entire computer. firmware issue? help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2011, 02:36 PM
alexruimy alexruimy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Si SYX-P6T-SE
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : ZAlex
User : Alex

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 8 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Asus P6T SE
BIOS : AMI 0808 03/08/2010
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : ASUS X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 536MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800 SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4x1.2GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800 SM5.0 850MHz, 1GB DDR5 4x1.2GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800SP 10C 850MHz, 1GB 4x1.2GHz)
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800SP 10C 850MHz, 1GB 4x1.2GHz)
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800SP 850MHz, 1010.4MB 4x1.2GHz)
Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (800SP 850MHz, 1010.4MB 4x1.2GHz)

Storage Devices
Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 15MB Cache) : 932GB (C:) (D:)
WDC WD1001FALS-00E8B0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (F:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH22NS40 (ATAPI, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 663MB (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
SYSTEM : 500MB (NTFS)
Music (F:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1001FALS-00E8B0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
ImageBackup (D:) : 40GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 15MB Cache)
WINDOWS (C:) : 891GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT721010SLA360 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 15MB Cache)
SACHLAV!! (E:) : 663MB (CDFS) @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH22NS40 (ATAPI, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)


Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 A5-13
Audio Device : ASUS HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semiconductor 888 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Visiontek EG JUNIPER XT Audio Device [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Audio Codec : ATI (AMD) AA01h
Disk Controller : ASUS ICH8R (ICH8) SATA RAID Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : ASUS USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : ASUS USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ASUS VT6315 Series Firewire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : doPDF 7 Printer Driver (2400x2400, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Wireless Adapter 1 : Belkin USB Wireless Adaptor (802.11g (ERP), 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2011, 04:53 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,758
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

The PC specs look pretty solid.

I would make sure your Video Card drivers are updated.

Make sure you are launching Pro Tools with Run As Admin.

Make sure you have done most W7 opts.


Avid Windows 7 Optimizations Video Playlist - YouTube

Windows 7 Optimizations

Not sure what version of Pro Tools you have but be sure to update to the latest version

Pro Tools 8.0.5 Downloads and Details

Pro Tools 9.0.3 Update


Make sure your drivers are up to date:
Driver Downloads and Updates for Pro Tools 9 and 8

You may want to update to SP1 for W7, it is an approved update.
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=298011


Also, you may have a bad Eleven Rack, if you switch sample rates does the sound come back?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2011, 07:16 PM
Deny Deny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 169
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

I for one would be really surprised if the PC version of the software was more stable than the Mac version, which is known for behaving exactly like you've described. My guess is the problem is in the driver, in my case I have to reboot my Macbook every time I want to use it with 11R/PTLE.
__________________
Deny
My SoundClick Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-31-2011, 10:20 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,758
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deny View Post
I for one would be really surprised if the PC version of the software was more stable than the Mac version, which is known for behaving exactly like you've described. My guess is the problem is in the driver, in my case I have to reboot my Macbook every time I want to use it with 11R/PTLE.
Do you have sleep or hibernate enabled? Is your wireless card disabled?
So you have a screen saver?

A Computer using Pro Tools or drivers for Avid gear need to be in High Power mode. Sleep, Hibernate, Low Power, ect... must be disabled

Sometimes a wireless card must also be disabled.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2011, 06:51 AM
Deny Deny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 169
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Do you have sleep or hibernate enabled? Is your wireless card disabled?
So you have a screen saver?

A Computer using Pro Tools or drivers for Avid gear need to be in High Power mode. Sleep, Hibernate, Low Power, ect... must be disabled

Sometimes a wireless card must also be disabled.
I can understand why this might not be a problem to a lot of users, as many of them have dedicated workstations for the sole purpose of running PT. But IMHO that's no excuse for sloppy programming (I'm a programmer myself), if other manufacturers can write stable drivers that still work after coming back from sleep why can't Avid? And even after a reboot it still has issues in the OSX audio midi setup.
__________________
Deny
My SoundClick Page
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:25 AM
alexruimy alexruimy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: eleven rack stops responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Do you have sleep or hibernate enabled? Is your wireless card disabled?
So you have a screen saver?
no sleep, no hibernate, no screen saver, no wireless card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Also, you may have a bad Eleven Rack, if you switch sample rates does the sound come back?
forgot about this fix, i'll try that next time this happens. i already had to send it back to avid for repair when it stopped working altogether about 6 months ago.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 08:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 07:07 PM
Wacom tablet makes PT stops responding? arvid.lind Post - Surround - Video 3 03-13-2009 08:05 PM
Command 8 stops responding (temporarily) ingriffiths ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 10-06-2008 01:38 PM
PT 4 stops responding when recroding Doppelganger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-27-2004 01:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com