Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2021, 04:48 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 505
Default Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were an analog console? By that I mean, NO Display Monitor of any kind. You've got a MC and 1 - 3 Mix units and your reference monitors (just like an analog console & tape machine or HDRs).

Could you do it? Have you done it? How was the workflow?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2021, 05:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,328
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

While it technical lt will work that way, it kind of defeats the purpose of running a DAW I'm an old analog console lover as much as anyone, but I'm not giving up the digital goodness. As an experiment, its easy to try. Route everything to a stereo bus feeding a stereo audio "mix" track. Turn automation off for all tracks(or some). Put the mix track into record ready, cover your screen(s) and hit the spacebar. That mix will be all you
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2021, 03:27 AM
hotanjaliupadhyay hotanjaliupadhyay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: India
Posts: 1
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

Thanks for sharing this wonderful content. Its very useful to us. I appreciate your efforts!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2021, 07:50 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

I teach an advanced audio production course at Ithaca College and when we are in person I have a full class devoted to mixing only with an Artist mix. I have them set up markers so they can navigate and then they blank the monitors and mix the song using only the artist mix. It changes the way they do audio forever because it removes the eye candy and they listen with 100% of their brain for the first time.

I have a D-Command at my studio with only 1 20" monitor and I have set up a "hot corner" so that when I drag to the bottom corner of the screen the screen goes black. Then I mix with my ears the same way I did when I had a console and tape machine.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2020.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12, BabyFacePro FS
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.15.6, PT2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2021, 09:11 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,923
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
I teach an advanced audio production course at Ithaca College and when we are in person I have a full class devoted to mixing only with an Artist mix. I have them set up markers so they can navigate and then they blank the monitors and mix the song using only the artist mix. It changes the way they do audio forever because it removes the eye candy and they listen with 100% of their brain for the first time.

I have a D-Command at my studio with only 1 20" monitor and I have set up a "hot corner" so that when I drag to the bottom corner of the screen the screen goes black. Then I mix with my ears the same way I did when I had a console and tape machine.
What Will says! So many people don't mix with their ears. They look at the Fader db level, waveform or whatever else and this all distracts from actually mixing the audio.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2021, 07:29 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,274
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

Turn the waveforms all the way up, then shrink the track size down to the smallest size. Makes the screen nearly unusable. Heaven.

Running plug-ins on knobs is especially useful because those knobs turn forever. Instead of making pretty pictures with your mouse you just twist until it sounds right.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2021, 10:46 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 459
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

I once had an assistant walk into my mix room and he asked me how I mix with all my fingers on faders and not touching the mouse or looking at volume lanes in PT..... I told him I use my ears. 🙄
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2021, 06:13 AM
Bifop Bifop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marseille, France
Posts: 11
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

It's funny that you mention that keyplayer. I recently got a connected power switch :
https://www.ikea.com/fr/fr/p/tradfri...ande-80364794/
My three monitors are powered through it.
I printed with a Dymo, a "Mix with ears" and a "Mix with eyes" label that I sticked to the off and on positions on the switch.
I added a couple of TcElectronic plugins with faceplates (TC icon series) on the desk above the 2X Artist Mix and Artist control + Transport to get "hands on control" on a few template plugins.

I switch off the screens when mixing and try to switch them back as less as possible (for routing multiple tracks to a bus or sidechaining etc).
I sometimes launch plugins directly from the artists, but I'm still faster doing it with the mouse. And then edit with knobs.

A lot can be done without screens even when playing and composing. Using Spectrasonic's Omnisphere headless thanks to their (not so) recently added "Hardware mode" is a wonderful musical experience ! You get into the music not into the eye candy, ball spinning around a circle type of distracting visual Omnisphere offers.

Overall, the experience (and the added hassle) of mixing without screens hugely worth it I reckon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2021, 02:15 PM
Suad Cokljat's Avatar
Suad Cokljat Suad Cokljat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 28
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post
Could you do it? Have you done it? How was the workflow?
Hi. No problem with that here. But what really spoils the party are cheap rubber buttons and no so feel good and unprecise faders. My opinion - Artist series look much better on demonstration videos than in real use.

Regards,

S
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2021, 05:57 PM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 163
Default Re: Anybody here ever tried mixing on Artist Series Units like they were analog?

I've done it a few times just for kicks. It's helpful to stretch the ears occasionally but currently using an Artist Mix and Artist Control just for automation and summing into a mixer. I need the mouse as backup for just moving quickly around the session which I could learn to do with the Control but just not ready to adapt yet. I don't use many plugins so navigation is the only mouse duty.

I have 12 summing channels out of PT (Lynx N 16) going to an external mixer plus some sweeting devices coming out of the mixer back to the session. I use the Artist boxes just near the end of a mix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP with setting up Avid Artist units on Macbook twistedinsane Artist Series 10 09-14-2018 07:40 PM
Can I SAFELY power up Artist Series units from a power rail? KeyplayerG Artist Series 3 07-10-2017 10:46 AM
Anyone using Artist Mix units with Windows? albee1952 Artist Series 13 12-19-2012 12:55 AM
CSCooper MCS Series vs EU Artist Series? GrievousAngel Artist Series 1 12-01-2010 02:10 PM
Lexicon MX series effect units VS Lexiverb teacherman General Discussion 0 09-03-2007 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com