Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2021, 09:34 AM
twolocs twolocs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 5
Default How do you get the source file location for a timeline audio clip?

I've been beating my head against this for a while. I have audio clips on the timeline of my P.T. 2020.12 session, that unfortunately do not correspond to clips in the Clip List (because they've been edited?) - when I click them, nothing in the clip list gets highlighted. Because of this, I can't get their source file location from the clip list, so where can I get it from?

I'm having a hard time understanding exactly what the clip list is good for. For the most part it doesn't reflect what's in my session's "Audio" folder on disk, it doesn't reflect what's on the timeline, and the clip list command "Object Select in Edit Window" hardly ever selects ANYTHING in the timeline!
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.12, perpetual license w/standard support & upgrade plan
MOTU UltraLite mk3 Hybrid
Dell XPS Desktop, 3.6 GHz 8-core i9-9900K: Windows 10 Pro v1909, 64GB RAM, SSD storage
Dell Inspiron 15 3567 Laptop, 2.7 GHz Core i5-7200U: Win10 Pro v2004, 16GB RAM, SSD
MacBook Pro Retina 13" early 2015, 3.1 GHz Core i7: High Sierra 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2021, 09:56 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 788
Default Re: How do you get the source file location for a timeline audio clip?

Go to the Clip List drop down menu and select Show>Auto-Created (cmd-opt-
K on Mac).

Also, make sure that there isn't a clip list search applied. There will be brackets with the search terms after the word CLIPS at the top of the clip list e.g. "CLIPS [boom]". If there is a search applied, there will be a Clear Find option at the top of the drop down menu (cmd-shift-D on Mac).
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2021, 12:18 PM
twolocs twolocs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do you get the source file location for a timeline audio clip?

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
Go to the Clip List drop down menu and select Show>Auto-Created (cmd-opt-
K on Mac).

Also, make sure that there isn't a clip list search applied. There will be brackets with the search terms after the word CLIPS at the top of the clip list e.g. "CLIPS [boom]". If there is a search applied, there will be a Clear Find option at the top of the drop down menu (cmd-shift-D on Mac).
Thanks originalscottyg, that definitely helps. In addition to Showing Auto-Created, I'm realizing that I have to ignore not only the Unused clips, but also the whole-file and "parent" clips - it's hard to see that they're bolded, so I need to check if the name ends in -## (with or w/o .L or .R). Didn't realize that whole-file and parent clips never show up on the timeline, only their sub-clips do.
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.12, perpetual license w/standard support & upgrade plan
MOTU UltraLite mk3 Hybrid
Dell XPS Desktop, 3.6 GHz 8-core i9-9900K: Windows 10 Pro v1909, 64GB RAM, SSD storage
Dell Inspiron 15 3567 Laptop, 2.7 GHz Core i5-7200U: Win10 Pro v2004, 16GB RAM, SSD
MacBook Pro Retina 13" early 2015, 3.1 GHz Core i7: High Sierra 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, SSD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2021, 11:22 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,881
Default Re: How do you get the source file location for a timeline audio clip?

Open up a workspace browser window focused on the project (opt-o) and click the disclosure triangle on the audio files folder. Then when you select a clip in the edit window it will highlight that clip in the browser - the browser will give any possible information you might want about a clip.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2020 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2021, 01:03 PM
twolocs twolocs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: How do you get the source file location for a timeline audio clip?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Open up a workspace browser window focused on the project (opt-o) and click the disclosure triangle on the audio files folder. Then when you select a clip in the edit window it will highlight that clip in the browser - the browser will give any possible information you might want about a clip.
Thanks, that's a good tip as well. Still, there are cases where both the Clips List and the Workspace Browser fail to highlight a file when you click on one of its clips in the Edit window. Example: if the clip is one half (.L or .R) of a stereo file or a subclip, clicking it in the timeline will not highlight it in the clips list and workspace browser, unless you've expanded (►) the parent clip in the clip list. This is unfortunate, because if you haven't expanded that particular parent, then the only way to find the file is to go through the Clips List visually (Sort by Name) until you see the matching clip name. Not a great user experience. It's weird that this affects the workspace browser at the same time as the clips list, since the browser doesn't even let you expand the parent file.
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.12, perpetual license w/standard support & upgrade plan
MOTU UltraLite mk3 Hybrid
Dell XPS Desktop, 3.6 GHz 8-core i9-9900K: Windows 10 Pro v1909, 64GB RAM, SSD storage
Dell Inspiron 15 3567 Laptop, 2.7 GHz Core i5-7200U: Win10 Pro v2004, 16GB RAM, SSD
MacBook Pro Retina 13" early 2015, 3.1 GHz Core i7: High Sierra 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync audio clip to timeline cursor position? amathie Post - Surround - Video 1 10-25-2019 11:09 AM
Drag and Drop select portion of an audio file into timeline? MatthewBeals macOS 2 08-19-2017 03:24 PM
How to set default audio file location? MicklePickle Getting Started 9 11-17-2015 03:36 PM
audio-suite plug-ins wont generate file in timeline nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-09-2008 09:53 AM
Problem with audio file save location milet22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-14-2005 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com