Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 09:02 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 81
Default midi notes not playing back properly

I am using a digi002r 10.6.4 and le 8.04. I am running my setup on a macbook pro


First off i am using protools 8.04 and snow leopard 10.6.4. I have trashed all preferences and database files relaunched protools and still no luck.

The problem is as followed. I set up my instrument track load structure and record, at this point everything is all good. When i go to play back what i have done it does not playback what i recorded. It appears that protools is not reading back the midi properly. In the edit window it shows clearly all the long drawn out sustained notes but plays them back staccato. I thought maybe it was structure so i loaded a different vi and same problem.

I looked at everything i can think of. I have never had this problem before and this is the first time I have used midi in 8.04 since i upgraded from 8.01.
In 8.01 and 10.5.8 I never had this problem. Has anyone had the same problem or is this another issue with 8.04 like the infamous solo problem that i keep getting and have yet to see a fix.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2010, 10:02 AM
emiloia emiloia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Unhappy Re: midi notes not playing back properly

Hello
Im having the same problem and is most hardly to hear when i play a track with midi information trigering drums
Im using pro tools 7.4 in a 002 rack, in a g5 dual
Im waiting for help.
Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2010, 10:21 AM
Richard901 Richard901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 478
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

Could this be a problem with double notes in the MIDI?
If you drag one of the "Staccato" notes to a different pitch, you might see a very small note underneath. If you delete the small note and drag the long note back, it should play OK.

You can delete all the small, double notes by -
cmd A to select everything
Event/Delete Duplicate Notes


Richard
__________________
Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2010, 12:14 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 81
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

The notes are not recorded staccato they are whole notes held for the 4 count and the editor clearly shows it but protools is only playing the first hit of the note and the remainder of the MIDI info is not being played thus making it sound staccato
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:00 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,792
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

This could be a couple of things - most likely your controller is set to output on multiple zones, thus Pro Tools is recording two MIDI notes for every key press. Turning off mulitple zones should help. Alternately you can set the input to the track to the keyboard and specific MIDI channel you want to record from that keyboard.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:26 PM
mexablcknesekid mexablcknesekid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

Maybe latency issues.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2010, 04:16 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 81
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

just looked at my keystation pro 88 and i did notice that zone 1 and zone 3 is active. That could be it i will try that and see if that works once i turn off zone 3.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2010, 04:59 PM
guitarhead guitarhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 81
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

that was it. my keyboard was sending out to 2 different zones. I can not understand why it would do that but that was the ticket. Thanks Tech support.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:40 PM
elowl elowl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: downey los ángeles ca
Posts: 2
Default Re: midi notes not playing back properly

i am having the same issue and was wondering if they are any tutorials on this?
and i checked my axiom 49 keyboard and it looks good to me what else do you think it might be?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ample Guitar M not playing back properly in pattern mode protoolsuserman AAX Plug-ins 0 02-05-2014 04:28 PM
Midi chaos (playing notes on its own) Ryan Young MIDI 11 05-13-2009 12:20 PM
Probs with Xpand!... not all notes playing back zv yoda Virtual Instruments 11 12-31-2008 03:59 AM
Midi notes keep playing jallen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-28-2008 08:30 PM
Click track(s) not playing back properly Blueswah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-08-2007 06:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com