Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2010, 04:56 PM
KKalampo KKalampo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

First of all I've never used a mac before, but since there tons of problems with windows and PT I decided to buy a mac. I'm thinking of buying a Mac Pro 4-Core 2.8GHz Intel Xeon "Nehalem" or a Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4GHz Intel Xeon "Westmere" (i read in a post that westmere doesn't work well with PT8).Also (newb question alert!!) these two have Two PCI Express 2.0 x4 slots.will the pcie cards fit?(since as far as i know they are x1).Lastly, will the switch to mac
make sense or are there lots of problems with macs and pt too?
Thanks for your replies
Kostas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:33 AM
KKalampo KKalampo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:59 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,483
Default Re: what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KKalampo View Post
First of all I've never used a mac before, but since there tons of problems with windows and PT I decided to buy a mac. I'm thinking of buying a Mac Pro 4-Core 2.8GHz Intel Xeon "Nehalem" or a Mac Pro 8-Core 2.4GHz Intel Xeon "Westmere" (i read in a post that westmere doesn't work well with PT8).Also (newb question alert!!) these two have Two PCI Express 2.0 x4 slots.will the pcie cards fit?(since as far as i know they are x1).Lastly, will the switch to mac
make sense or are there lots of problems with macs and pt too?
Thanks for your replies
Kostas
Hi,

Yes PCIe cards work in all new MacPros!

I believe Mac is more reliable than PC! but you'll have to ask on both the PC and Mac forums!! guess you'll get lots of conflicting replies, but there are far more Mac users on HD than PC

No platform is totally free of problems!

What problems are you having on PC?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:05 AM
8thnote 8thnote is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 61
Default Re: what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

You'll love working on a Mac once you get used to it. Far more intuitive.
The Intel Macs are PCIe so any PT cards that are PCIe should work.
As far as the new Macs, I'm looking into which model to get myself so can't help other than there is a lot of discussion and they are too new to get any solid answers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:14 PM
KKalampo KKalampo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Yes PCIe cards work in all new MacPros!

I believe Mac is more reliable than PC! but you'll have to ask on both the PC and Mac forums!! guess you'll get lots of conflicting replies, but there are far more Mac users on HD than PC

No platform is totally free of problems!

What problems are you having on PC?

Chris
I haven't used pt with a pc-but from what i read in the Pro Tools|HD Systems on Windows forum there are lot of problems.The programs i've used are nuendo and cubase and in the past 7 years I had no crashes or anything like that.(and with sessions having over 70 tracks of audio and several instances of vi's like atmosphere, absynth, east west orchestra and bosendorfer.
Right now I'm building a professional studio so I'm looking into PT-being used in pro studios gotta mean something, right?

8thnote
<<You'll love working on a Mac once you get used to it. Far more intuitive. >>

well, 8thnote that's what i'm hoping of too.
Thanks for the replies
Kostas
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2010, 04:42 PM
Java Java is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 53
Default Re: what mac should i buy for hd2 accel pcie?

For the new Mac Pros follow this thread:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=280454

The new machines appear to be working, but there were two people who mentioned problems. I usually have to weigh their feedback against how technically inclined they seem to be.

I will be posting my results in this thread as well.

Also there are some additional factors to consider but the thread will cover them as well.

Hope this helps...
__________________
Java
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT: Accel PCIe For Core Accel PCIe acmost Buy & Sell 3 09-01-2012 04:38 PM
HD 3 Accel PCIe = 2 Accel Core + 1 HD Accel???? Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 08-04-2007 03:20 PM
can feat pcie hd accel to pcie x16 of motherboard? raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 06-29-2007 08:37 AM
HD2 NON ACCEL vs. HD1 Accel Core PCIe s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-25-2006 07:18 AM
Runing Accel plugs on the "Accel PCIe core DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-19-2005 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com