Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2006, 10:34 PM
haydini haydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 136
Default MIDI note shifting

When I record the midi data for a plugin (like EVP73 or M-audio Key Rig) the resulting playback is shifted in pitch about a 1/2 tone plus a few cents from the original played data. I don't know why it is doing this but maybe something is set somewhere that is changing it. I'm new to pro-tools so maybe a traspose of something is occurring. The odd thing is that it seems out of tune like the shift is more than just a half step. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:33 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MIDI note shifting

What are you using as a MIDI controller? Is it possible that your controller is defective in some way? Have you checked the pitch wheel?
Also check the tracks for pitch bend automation data just to make sure.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:55 AM
sixways sixways is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 75
Default Re: MIDI note shifting

I think that was one of the CS update fixes for PT7.

6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2006, 07:02 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: MIDI note shifting

The only CS update that has been released for MPowered contains the following fixes:
Quote:

Fixed: Problems With Fade Dialog Preview (Items #70503, 70505)

* Previewing a crossfade or auditioning an existing crossfade in the Fades dialog results in clicks or no audio.

Fixed: Track Meters Flicker When Processor Setting Is Dual-RTAS (Item #70647)

* Flicker could occur on stereo meters when tracks were set to "no input" with pre-fader metering disabled. Note - this does not occur with single processor RTAS setting.

Fixed: Inaccuracies With Groove Quantize (Item # 70393)

* When using Groove Quantize as an edit operation or as Input Quantize, notes were being randomly moved.

More details here
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:42 AM
haydini haydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 136
Default Re: MIDI note shifting

It must be the plug-in (EVP-73)....my other plugins like Trilogy, Atmospher, FM7 etc. are all in tune with each other....it is just this one. I have to transpose the midi and detune in the plug in to get it to sound the same. PITA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length kingofallwookies Pro Tools 11 2 02-07-2014 07:10 AM
Midi 101 really missing? Set high note/low note on track's input robinsonsdca macOS 4 11-10-2011 01:23 PM
EXPORT MIDI from Stryke NOTE FOR NOTE... riggi Virtual Instruments 1 03-10-2008 07:32 PM
Time shifting/pitch shifting? mistasmijen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-31-2008 03:24 AM
Export MIDI shifting pmo MIDI 2 08-16-2006 07:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com