Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2008, 07:57 AM
olliespike olliespike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Mbox 2 Pro - no sound!!!

Hi there everyone

I hope someone can help me cos i'm close to tearing my hair out!

I have an Mbox 2 pro running on my mac pro (2 x 2Ghz Dual cores, 3 Gb Ram, on 10.4.9)

Ever since i bought it back in October ive had problems with it - Every time i boot the computer up the power light on the Mbox flashes and i get no sound. Usually i can sort this out by going into audio/MIDI setup and changing the sample rate from 44100 to 48000 and back again (which is usually followed by a little click through the speakers!). If this doesnt work then i do the same thing in bias peak and that usually does the trick.
Ive just tried to do this again today but this time i'm getting absolutely no sound at all whatever i do (even though the power light stays static)

Does anyone have any ideas? Its just when your spending close to 600 quid on something, you kinda expect it to work really...

Thanks!

Ollie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:16 AM
GunnyT GunnyT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 190
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro - no sound!!!

I used to have the same issue with my mbox2 pro. I would try hotplugging, rebooting...it used to take several tries, to get the unit to 'sync'. All I did to fix this, was update up to 7.3.1cs6. That worked for me (along with using 10.4.10) I don't know what version(s) you are running, so that may help you as well. I hope it does.
__________________
Where in the world is DJ Reggie?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:19 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,108
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro - no sound!!!

Things to try (if appropriate),

1. You're using the Mbox Pro with bus power right i.e without the AC adapter?
2. Is 'Sleep Mode' for the Mac is disabled? Otherwise, it has trouble detecting the hardware again when it comes out of sleep.
3. You could try another Firewire cable in case there's an intermittent fault.
4. You don't say what version of PT you have. Is the firmware up to date? I think there have been driver revisions for PT7.3


http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2008, 02:47 PM
olliespike olliespike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro - no sound!!!

Cheers for the quick replys chaps!

Just downloading 7.3.1cs6 at the mo so will get back to you with an update when its all done and installed...

In answer to the questions:

1. yep, using it powered with the firewire cable - is it advisable to use the AC adapter?
2. sleep mode is disabled
3. will give this a try if the above doesn't work!
4. im on 7.3.1, its a fresh install too - i just reformatted my Macintosh HD and reinstalled 10.4.9 a couple of days ago cos i had another problem with PT not launching...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2008, 03:46 PM
GunnyT GunnyT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 190
Default Re: Mbox 2 Pro - no sound!!!

According to DigiTechSupport:

You do NOT need to use the AC power adaptor unless your computer only has a 4 pin firewire port, which doesn't supply power. If you have a 6 pin port, the MBox 2 Pro will get it's power via firewire.
__________________
Where in the world is DJ Reggie?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 master volume knob initial adjust jumps from no sound to sound : | Focuret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2012 04:45 PM
Mbox 2 mini. DRIVERS sound/no sound HotLava 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-17-2008 06:52 AM
Mbox 2 pro losing sound after other sound apps run ivisage 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-04-2006 05:54 PM
MBox used as main sound card but sound is jerky Jonny5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2006 08:42 AM
Mbox sound input in Apple Sound Control denbee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-24-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com