Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2019, 08:58 AM
auratone auratone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Holland , Lelystad
Posts: 15
Default Pro Tools 2019.12 Catalina Support

macOS Catalina

Pro Tools 2019.12 adds initial support for macOS Catalina. This means that while most Pro Tools functions are supported, compatibility with certain file types is not yet available and will come in a future release. For more information on these limitations, visit our Catalina support page. You can then decide whether your system and workflow are fully compatible before updating or purchasing a new Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2019, 09:57 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Ha - the Windows Read Me:

p1-4 - Bug Fixes
p4-27 - Known issues
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2019, 10:06 AM
glogulus2003 glogulus2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

It's a Christmas miracle!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2019, 10:11 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by glogulus2003 View Post
It's a Christmas miracle!
Hah Hah!!
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2019, 10:12 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Just downloaded.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2019, 11:19 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Doesn't work with onboard sound of the macbook here..

Same every time..

Works for around 2 minutes, and I am having the best performance at 32 buffer I have EVER had from PT, and then it says another program using the device changed the sample rate. Then I have to quit.

Have no idea what is going on.

Apollo not Catalina compatible yet neither is my Mbox 3, I have an ultra lite but no firewire thunderbolt adapter.. So I guess I am SOLA for now.. Initial excitement still there, but I guess they just didn't test it with on board audio at all. Seems like it will perform really well when I get it working in an update. Oh well.

Of course, being a brand new computer that came with Catalina, this is a virgin PT install on it.. No rubbish that could possible cause issues.

I'll try again with Safari closed this time although I have never ever had a problem with that in the past.. but be curious to see if that's it. Shouldn't PT be able to take command of the interface completely?

EDIT: wow this forum really squishes the quality of the pics down to the point they are unreadable.. they really need to fix that or it's pointless showing screenshot error messages. This was a hi res command/shift/3 screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PT Error.jpg (53.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2019, 11:29 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Ok so I set the system to MacBook pro internal speakers, system sounds etc.

And I set pro tools to the external headphone socket (that's how it comes up).

Smooth sailing for a few minutes, then, "pro tools can not communicate with the external headphone socket".. had to save and quit.

Do these people actually TEST the app they release for more than a few seconds? I mean this is irritating now. This is the most basic fundamental stuff.

Obviously the socket is just fine as I have watched movies galore since I had the computer, plugged into the IK loud through the built in external output of the MacBook, and I have used logic A LOT with zero issue.

What uselessness and annoyance.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2019, 11:54 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Ok I restarted, removed the external speaker from the headphone port incase there's a problem with the port physically, I changed the output device in Pro Tools to "MacBook pro internal speakers"..

Worked perfectly for around 50 seconds this time.. then

"pro tools can not communicate with MacBook pro internal speakers".

So it can't use those OR the headphone port?

Such a shame....

FWIW.. I was even able to play Jupiter 8 (arturia), all voices being used, I made sure of it with 8 note chords, and a fab filter reverb on the channel. The fab filter reverb made all the cores spike but using just a synth on it's own at 32 buffer is fixed. The thing is, I had turbo disabled on the MacBook, so it's only running at 2.4ghz!
I duplicated this track, WITH the reverb, 4 times, and the usage didn't change./ Pro tools is properly multithreading armed VI tracks at 32 buffer.. HUGE change.

The reverb causing all that spiking makes me wonder how it would do native monitoring with effects though, like, external channels I mean.. using PT as a native mixer instead of an outboard mixer. Still.. the best by far of any PT I have ever used. Except I can't use it! LOL!
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2019, 11:59 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 253
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Avid is a stable Daw with so many great features like Ara2 and more...oh wait...

But its your fault...(maybe a faulty Macbook Pro ))
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2019, 12:06 PM
jscomposer jscomposer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Boogie Woogie
Posts: 428
Default Re: Protools 2019.12 Catalina Support

Not impressed. They just got rid of the 32 bit stuff. Replacing them is still in the works. People working in post gotta wait or use workarounds. Is that a fair summary?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox family driver support for Mac OS Catalina djdubceast49 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 43 06-02-2020 10:31 AM
Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina legasafe macOS 129 05-27-2020 05:44 PM
Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working luism macOS 8 12-21-2019 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com