Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-24-2018, 11:10 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,504
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvalmont View Post
um, Avid does sell EQ plugins for $300... Pultec bundle $299, Focusrite D2/D3 $299, Joemeek Bundle $299.
Why would anyone pay $300 for those, when you can get all of their plugins for $49 a year?

I bought my d2/d3 used for like $100 and got the Joe Meek bundle as part of my MBox bundle like 14 years ago.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 48GB, 1TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Clarett 8Pre / Protools 2018.4
Work: nMacPro: 8-core, 64GB, 2.5TB SSD, 3TB HDD, Sierra / Focusrite Red 4Pre, HD32R / Yamaha CL5, 2x RIO3224D / Protools HD 2018.4, HDX
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Yesterday, 03:33 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvalmont View Post
um, Avid does sell EQ plugins for $300... Pultec bundle $299, Focusrite D2/D3 $299, Joemeek Bundle $299.
Yes but their strongest selling point is that they are backed by Pro Tools which is an established DAW that has been improved, tested and used for many years, not the other way around. What are those bundles 8- 15 years old? The fact that Avid hasn't lowered their price doesn't mean that's what they're worth today...or that people buy them first hand.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Yesterday, 07:42 AM
jsvalmont jsvalmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 105
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Yes but their strongest selling point is that they are backed by Pro Tools which is an established DAW that has been improved, tested and used for many years, not the other way around. What are those bundles 8- 15 years old? The fact that Avid hasn't lowered their price doesn't mean that's what they're worth today...or that people buy them first hand.
You’re preaching to the choir. I was just saying that they do technically sell plugins for that much - in response to the guy who said “I’d hate to see how much a DAW costs from a company who sells an EQ for $300”
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old Yesterday, 08:47 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: Will Avid ever invest in new plugins again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsvalmont View Post
You’re preaching to the choir. I was just saying that they do technically sell plugins for that much - in response to the guy who said “I’d hate to see how much a DAW costs from a company who sells an EQ for $300”
That was me, yo, amagras. And no hate involved in my original post neither this one
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you invest in HD3 PCIe today? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-18-2011 02:53 PM
Should I invest in Pro Tools? worldwidestudios Post - Surround - Video 18 08-31-2010 09:06 AM
What should i invest in next? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 03-23-2004 10:21 AM
should i invest into a control for pt??? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 06-04-2002 06:16 AM
Invest in PRO-TOOLS now??? microphone General Discussion 16 06-08-2000 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com