Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-13-2016, 06:59 AM

Default Acoustic Guitar Mic'd 11 Rack

I'm brand new to recording, and fully understand it's an art (and science) that has many nuances that can take years (and more) to master. Having said that, quick question.

I figured out how to mic my acoustic via 11 Rack/Pro Tools and record. I believe that since my 'input' in PT is "mic in"...that I'm simply recording the dry signal (which is what I want).

I was very surprised at just how horrible the playback sounded (whether through the iMAC speakers...or my Yamaha HS5's).

I cannot even believe it. Again, I realize the number of variables (mic, distance from sound hole, angles of mic, room dynamics, etc etc) but, man, this is so far from sounding like anything even remotely good...I'm not talking about fine tuning here. It's really bad. To the extent that I thought maybe the mic was broken (but, trying my acoustic direct via cable resulted in pretty much the same horrible sound).

To try and paint the picture, I've recorded myself in the past just for fun using my laptop video camera (and whatever mic is in the cheap laptop) and it sounded FAR superior. It's just so far off that it's got me stumped. I had a very inexpensive presonus set up for about 1 day a couple years back (long story) and had no idea what I was doing and the playback of some quick chord progressions I recorded sounded like I was Dave Matthews Live at Radio City...compared to the playback I'm getting now.