How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-11-2014, 11:47 PM

Default Protools free trial. Trouble activating

Hi there.

I am new to Pro tools. I have had Media Composer for many years but now I need Pro tools so I have downloaded the free trial which got me to install ilok(which seemed strange considering I haven't purchased a license or dongle). I have installed the program but it will not go any further than the splash page. When I downloaded the trial it didn't see any specific information on how to install a trial. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 10-12-2014, 07:13 AM

Default Re: Protools free trial. Trouble activating

Hi and Welcome to the Community

We do need more info on your setup in order to help. PC or MAC? model? Operating system version etc

Do you have an ilok2 ( the new non-keyshaped ilok ) as the ilok which is refered to as ilok1 is not working with PT11.

The more info the better

Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Old 10-16-2014, 08:17 PM

Thanks for responding. I have a pc. I'm sure I filled out the info for my system but maybe it didn't come across.

Do you have to have an iLok key to trial the software?
Old 10-16-2014, 08:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by deslog View Post
Thanks for responding. I have a pc. I'm sure I filled out the info for my system but maybe it didn't come across.

Do you have to have an iLok key to trial the software?
You have to have an iLok 2 to install a trial license on. All that is well covered in the instructions. Don't just try to install this stuff, you need to follow the install documentation, make sure you system meets the minimum requirements, follow the post install systems optimization instructions etc.