Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-18-2007, 06:38 PM

Default Pro Tools LE & Roland XP-30 MIDI compatibility

Hi there! I originally posted this in the M-Powered section, but now figure it'll be read more frequently here. I assume that my issue deals with LE in general.

I'm a newbie who has recently purchased ProTools M-Powered 7.3. The sound card I am using is an M-Audio Fast Track Pro.

Everything seems to be working thus far except for MIDI signal reception, and I'm wondering if it's because I'm using a Roland XP-30 for a controller.... a device that is notably absent from the list accessed from the MIDI Studio Setup Manufacturer/Model dialogue(I see Roland XP-10, 50, 60 & 80 models can be selected).

Perhaps this problem stems from inexperience, but I'm wondering if this is the problem's source --and if so, how do I go about fixing it? Dude at the music store told me the XP-30 should work fine (it works well for straight audio input).

Thank you.
Old 03-19-2007, 04:58 AM

Default Re: Pro Tools LE & Roland XP-30 MIDI compatibility

Hey man. You're in luck. I've been using my XP-30 with PTLE for years now. I have the Digi001 but that shouldn't matter. I am at work now, but maybe if you tell me exactly what you're having trouble with, and how you have it set up, I'll take a look at my connections and settings when I get home and I can help you get going.

Some general things to do...

Unless you have any super custom settings in your XP-30, do a factory default reset, which will set your XP-30 back to how it was fresh out of the box.

Are you merely using the XP-30 for a controller to trigger other midi devices? Or are you also using the XP-30 for playback?