Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2016, 04:13 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,202
Default Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

Pretty amazing, the Avid store, in addition to $399 for support and extra plugins I do not want/need/care about also wants to charge sales tax despite the fact that I am out of state.

No other online retailers do this.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2016, 04:15 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,279
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WKG View Post
Pretty amazing, the Avid store, in addition to $399 for support and extra plugins I do not want/need/care about also wants to charge sales tax despite the fact that I am out of state.

No other online retailers do this.
Hmm.

Only tangible property gets taxed.
Downloadable software does not.

I checked my renewal from July, and was not charged sales tax.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2016, 04:26 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WKG View Post
Pretty amazing, the Avid store, in addition to $399 for support and extra plugins I do not want/need/care about also wants to charge sales tax despite the fact that I am out of state.

No other online retailers do this.

Actually, a lot of other online retailers do this. It has more to do with the state you live in and the way the tax laws there are enforced.

They're actually all suppose to collect sales tax, but some don't.

For instance, I live in TN, and I get charged tax pretty much everywhere online now, because my state legislature decided to get hardcore about that kind of thing, a few years back. It's a point of sale thing...
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2016, 04:44 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

So now the Avid store is forcing me to install google chrome to make the purchase.

I hate google chrome.

Why do I get the constant feeling that they just hack this stuff together as they go along....?
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2016, 06:11 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,398
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

I have to pay taxes from Canada. What I don't understand is why the avid store doesn't accept PayPal.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2016, 08:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,956
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

I've never had an issue with Firefox. Beyond that, sales tax is a slippery slope and many online retailers will charge state tax as long as they have a retail source IN that state. Ever since newegg built a warehouse in TN, I now get charged sales tax, even if the product ships from another location. And Waves also charges sales tax on every purchase(can't remember if I get charges tax when buying Waves from AD or dontcrack.com)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2016, 09:39 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

I just ended up going to Sweetwater, at least sales tax there was justified. I also had no problem completing the transaction which went through instantly. The Avid store failed at least three times, twice after I installed chrome. Sheesh, $399 for the Avid life support plan was insulting enough...
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 6.02
RME, Daking, Heritage, ISA, Sytek

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2016, 11:15 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

Before we had Obama Money, now we have Trump Tax!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2016, 09:42 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,956
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Before we had Obama Money, now we have Trump Tax!
This happened long before
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-08-2016, 02:59 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 782
Default Re: Why does the Avid store charge sales tax?

I bought some stompbox plugins from Avid yesterday, no sales tax - paid with CC.

Sent from my KYOCERA-C6745 using Tapatalk
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot log into Avid Store StefB Licensing & Accounts 2 11-03-2015 01:05 PM
Firmware Issue MBOX pro AVID will charge for repair flautista FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 11-07-2013 03:21 PM
AVID US Midwest Sales Rep??? Table Syrup Records General Discussion 5 06-06-2012 04:47 PM
If I were in charge at Avid, I would...... DTheone General Discussion 66 04-12-2010 02:04 PM
Avid Store Pluck General Discussion 9 03-04-2010 02:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com