Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 07-15-2019, 03:59 AM
buckman buckman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougdi View Post
@jacko Do you miss Audiosuite?
I wish that Reaper would allow to drag and highlight a time selection exactly like PT, so you can narrow down what you are editing, which seems more intuitive to me, and also the audiosuite also seems a good idea, but i think Reaper now has many ways to achieve this now with FX on items?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-15-2019, 06:31 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 989
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam79 View Post
This probably isn't the worst place to ask this question, or it could actually be the best.. Anyway, I've been thinking of making the switch to Reaper ever since my Annual PT Subscription lapsed and they wanted 3x the cash...so I've been stuck on version 12.4 for who knows how long.



I've also read that Reaper runs much smoother and can load more plugin instances than PT. especially when running the Acoustica Audio Aqua stuff.


Have any of you PT diehards ever tried Reaper and can make an honest comparison? I know it's gonna be a monumental pain in the ass reinstalling all my plugins as .AU files (AU is Mac and VST is windows, right?), but it might be worth it. I'm kicking myself know for only installing the AAX format of plugs.


Just curious to hear from you guys on this

I guess by the vast difference in replies you might have deduced that the answer to your question is almost too individually specific, to be of much use to you personally.

If you are doing audio editing professionally having let your PT laps and the expense of renewing is arguably the worst reason possible to switch.

No doubt (depending entirely in individual workflow preferences and specific learning types and abilities ) that some people will prefer the customization and efficient CPU of Reaper. And again depending entirely on individual may very prefer the workflow (personally for the life of I can't imagine why) but we all are very different in some things .


Also be aware though,,,,, that some favorable replies (may) be more a emotional reaction to PT going subscription and annual costs etc. than actual objective logistical and workflow reasons and be more a matter of self justification for switching than stand back objectivity.

For me when I tried Reaper ( admittedly back in version 3 or 4) try as might to like it .
I found it so counterintuitive , cumbersome , and the nomenclature to be so foreign and useless that I quit trying.

But I am wondering also if age and chronological order of having learned recording may also have something to with preference
Because for those of us who started with tape and analog mixing consoles, I am guessing there is no DAW GUI that is as overall intuitive as PT
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB........PTHDN 2018.12 on OS 10.13.6 High Sierra on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2dn Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB --


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-15-2019, 08:32 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,320
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

If you like tweaking/customizing things, reaper might be worth a look. If you just want to keep making music, I would just hold out at 12.4 until you have the extra cash to update. Your clients probably don’t care what version you are running so long as you can deliver your product to them. As Tom said, Pt 12.4 was a very stable release. I ran an outdated tdm system with PT5 as my main rig up until pro tools 9 came out.

Reaper was more interesting as a supplemental program to rewire into Pro Tools back in the pro tools 8 days when everything was 32 bit and you had to run an Avid/Digi interface to be able to run pro tools(there are lots of interesting posts by Shan on this forum on that subject from around 10 years ago). I think Reaper is a powerful program, and very customizable.. but for my needs it is not a full on replacement for pro tools. Keep in mind I have been using Pro Tools since v5 in the early 2000’s and Logic since the same time. Those 2 daws provide me with everything I need, and my time is too valuable to learn a new program.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-15-2019, 08:49 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,320
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
But I am wondering also if age and chronological order of having learned recording may also have something to with preference
Because for those of us who started with tape and analog mixing consoles, I am guessing there is no DAW GUI that is as overall intuitive as PT
Interesting point. I originally started recording my music with a 4 track tascam. I often forget that I did spend a lot of time with that thing long before learning pro tools.
But, I don’t think age and chronology of learning is entirely what determines why certain people might prefer a program like reaper. There are certain people who thrive on constantly learning new things and coming up with new ways to do things. When I was younger, I was much more excited about innovating and being on the bleeding edge, and definitely fit into that category. But now my time is so limited I just want to focus on being productive with what I know, and turning my time into money in the most efficient way possible.

I think modern software has 2 main directions it is going:
1. Making something quick and easy (compare logic’s “drummer” tracks to programming and mixing drum samples)
2. Finding a way to pass the time when someone has downtime(social media, most iOS apps/games)
Reaper doesn’t fit in either of these categories, IMHO it’s for a very limited market of users.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-19-2019, 01:38 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 694
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Interesting point. I originally started recording my music with a 4 track tascam. I often forget that I did spend a lot of time with that thing long before learning pro tools.
After using something like PT “that thing” imo would be easily forgotten as great as they were way back then..... they were in fact and I suppose in comparison CRAP to use.... but then again if they were so great someone Waves would invent a 4 track Tascam plug with those wonderful FXs like authentic track bleed (it’s a 4 or 8 track option/ cassette or reel to reel) A “track limiter” (just coz you loved to track bounce and who needs more then 4 or 8 tracks anyway if your a REAL pro

But then again if it wasn’t for my old trusty tascam 4 track Porto studio I prolly would be here in this forum today....
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-04-2019, 09:11 AM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Pro Tools vs Reaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckman View Post
I've just joined this forum to see how protools has progressed since last using it over 10 years, ago and am thinking of going back as a "delivery software" to send to any PT editors, for TV, Commercials and Film

I jumped to Reaper too, and love it although if we are honest, it does so many things, 10 times over that its a bit of a cluster**** even after spending days on actions and macros customizing it.

My only jump in to this great thread, is that if a lot of you are jumping from Pro tools to Reaper, how do you deliver to people who are working down the line and want PT sessions?

I would like to use Reaper as its quicker and faster, but most Television industry, have no clue what Reaper is. Would I still need PT as an 'end of line' compiler to send out finished cues?
Or do composers/sound designers actually use Reaper and get compatibility with PT?

Just a genuine question before I jump into the Avid waters

I'm a little bit late to the party. I have PT 10 and 11 but Reaper is my DAW. So much easier to use, never crashes etc. Not to mention that downloading an installing an upgrade takes less than 1 minute (ha! not kidding). But I do advise to keep PT because for delivering sessions to most pro users PT is still the standard.

So I can create a soundtrack with VSTs etc. etc. but I'd deliver a PT session, nicely labeled and organized, with comments, etc. There's a great program called AA Translator in case you need convert Reaper sessions to PT session or vice versa.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Reaper to Host VST VI's in Pro Tools DonaldM Tips & Tricks 15 11-16-2013 10:49 AM
HELP! Reaper > Pro Tools Issues AlexDC macOS 6 06-20-2013 08:44 AM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 07:51 AM
Pro Tools to Reaper... Need some help! DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 42 03-15-2010 08:24 AM
Reaper and Pro Tools 8? jebwick General Discussion 50 09-23-2009 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com