Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-01-2005, 10:41 PM

Default Difference Between Products? (newbie)

Hi,
My name is Matt Brown, and I'm a solo artist interested in ProTools hardware, the reason being that my previous drum teacher (ex-A-list drummer in LA studio) repeatedly claimed that ProTools is the best recording equipment in existence. Since he told me this I've begun noticing that various favorite bands of mine do indeed use ProTools, and so now that I'm writing and recording a solo album after nearly three years of band experience, I'm looking into buying a ProTools rig for myself. From the prices I've seen (e.g. "starting at 10,000 USD"), I know I am currently not monetarily capable of buying one, but I still need to do some research to find out what's what and what I'll be wanting to get when I do have the money to get rigged up; this way I can know how much I need to try and save in the next couple of years. In the meantime I'm still writing and recording with basic and overall decent equipment, but my ultimate goal is ProTools.

So there's my initial question: What are the different products, and how much might I be looking at spending on a complete rig?

The reason why I don't ask my drum teacher for those that might be wondering is that he's not here anymore, and he's too busy to send me an email telling me everything I need to know about ProTools.

Thanks,
Matt
Old 08-02-2005, 12:22 AM

Default Re: Difference Between Products? (newbie)

Matt,

Quote:
my previous drum teacher (ex-A-list drummer in LA studio) repeatedly claimed that ProTools is the best recording equipment in existence.