Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2008, 01:18 AM
rbon rbon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3
Default Changing the midi note duration

Hi,

I'm new to PT and can not for the life of me figure out how to select a group of midi notes and change their duration to say 1/32 notes. I'm editing drum parts and although I enter them from a keyboard controller I like to scale them to at least 1/32 notes for editing clarity. I'm sure I've missed something. For some reason the directories to all my Help files don't go anywhere so it's difficult to find answers. Thanks for any input!

Rick

MBox2 w/PT LE 7.4 on OS X
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2008, 02:26 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Changing the midi note duration

Welcome to the DUC, Rick. There's several ways of achieving this, personally I'd use Track-based Real-Time Properties.

In the Pro Tools Perferences>MIDI Tab, if not already, check the 'Display Events as Modified by Real-Time Properties' option.

In the Edit window select Real-Time Properties from the Edit Window View selector and select DUR (Change Duration). Select the 'Add' option from the pop-up menu and set the amount of duration to 1/32 Note. This will write a 32 note value duration to all notes for that selected track whilst preserving the relative grid position.

As for your Help Menu issue, I'd purchase a printed 7.4 Pro Tools Reference Guide , for, you know, a little light reading.








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2008, 12:48 PM
rbon rbon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Changing the midi note duration

Thanks filo!

I'll give that a shot. I considered picking up that book while at the music store the other day. I've always preferred books to readme files and help files. I'm sure it's excellent reading! Especially before bed. Thanks again for the help.

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:06 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Changing the midi note duration

Rick, RTP is a brilliant notion (pun intented) and a fundamental concept must be realized. RTP modified events affect playback only and although RTP modified events can be displayed, they aren't written, that is, set in stone.

For instance, adding a 1/32 Note duration value to an existing drum pattern only exists in playback, for if you deselect DUR the drum pattern then in turn displays it's original duration.

Furthermore, if you were to uncheck 'Display Events as Modified by Real-Time Properties' but yet still apply a 1/32 Note DUR and hit playback, you would indeed hear that drum pattern extented by a 1/32 Note.

So, in essence, you need to 'Write' RTP modified events to track. Alt+4 Numeric Keypad (Win) Opt+4 Numeric Keypad (Mac). Select Track Name for which track you want to apply the write (RTP Window will update) and when click 'Write to Track'. Now your RTP modified events are set in stone.

So, what's the point, why not use Event Operations, because once sussed, MIDI Real-Time Properties opens to a myriad of non-destructive possibilities. That is, not all events need writing.









filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2008, 07:47 PM
CapnChem CapnChem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Default Re: Changing the midi note duration

i don't know if this will help, and the above ways are probably better ways to do this.
you can hard quantize everything to 32nd notes (including duration), but...goodbye groove.
Or hilite the region in grid mode and trim down or trim/extend the notes to the 32nd value on the grid. you better be zoomed in pretty close... after either quantization, put your groove template back on. be careful for overlapping 32nd notes after the gruv quant.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2008, 04:11 AM
musicalavtech musicalavtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Piqua, oHIo
Posts: 509
Default Re: Changing the midi note duration

With saying that...try relative grid so as not to lose the groove.
__________________
OSX10.6.8, 1st gen Power Mac,
PT8.0.5, Mbox2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Note Duration 10willy Windows 1 09-21-2012 01:54 PM
How do u extend Midi note duration in PT9? Metallicamasta Pro Tools 9 5 06-23-2011 10:01 AM
8.0.4 MIDI note duration change when editing Shanti Monkey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-27-2010 02:56 AM
Changing MIDI Note Duration - Need Help Please JCWarrior 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-20-2007 10:47 AM
Change tempo without adjusting midi note duration Janiak Tips & Tricks 6 09-03-2004 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com