Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2004, 03:25 AM
areurecordings areurecordings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Hi there,

I am having problems with my D8b in Hui mode (Protools mixplus 5 - MacOS 9)
When I try to to make volume changes in Protools (touch mode) through the D8b, the faders pull back automaticly to their starting position when holding the faders for more then a few seconds,...
Does anybody know how to fix this problem?

Thanks in advance, Grtz, Rene.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2004, 05:41 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Remove any groups if you have them or just use one fader from the group.
I found this to be the worst offender of the D8B fader issues.
(POV)
Mackie hui on their own product (D8B) is such an after thought.
Why only 8 fader control and not 3-hui/24 fader control??
My Baby Hui works far better. (as far as the faders go)
The D8B is ok for somethings but I am saving for a Ghost or Control 24 and not their new 200/400 DXB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2004, 06:03 AM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Yeah, same here. Faders snap back to where the auto data is after a few seconds (drops out of Touch mode quickly). WRITE mode is the only mode I can use here. I basically do a pass from top to bottom (old school) and then go in and fix by hand.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2004, 04:04 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,752
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Hi,
Does this happen while you are touching the fader or when you release it? You may want to experiment with increasing the touch time out value in automations preferences.
Thanks,
Digidesign Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2004, 04:18 PM
areurecordings areurecordings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Hi, thank you all for helping me.

To digi-tech-support: it happens when I am holding the fader to one postion,...I allready experimented with the settings in the preferences, but, I will try again tomorrow.
if you know a solution,...let me know, Thanks, Rene.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2004, 05:00 PM
Sean Halley Sean Halley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles,CA, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

I might be asleep, but I don't remember the D8b having touch-sensitive faders - thus, the only way PT is going to know that you've made a move is for the control (the fader, in this instance) to move past the null point. As well, if you move the fader and hold it in one place for awhile, PT will have no way to know that you're still holding it there, because in essence you're not sending any more information.

If I remember correctly, PT will wait the amout of time set (the timeout) in the Preferences AFTER it receives the last message and will begin to Revert (that's actually correct behavior when it "goes back to its starting position").

If you increase the amount of time in the timeout, Pro Tools will wait longer before it begins to Revert, or snap back. There is likely not to be any "perfect" setting, so experiment....

Without touch-sensitivity, you're really in the dark, because you have to continually send automation data to Pro Tools to let it know that you're still touching the fader....it's like holding a pan knob - how does Pro Tools know you're still holding it? Only if it's moving....

Hope that helps (and is relatively accurate )

S..
__________________
"it's not about making the changes, it's about playing ideas in time"

Scofield...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2004, 12:26 AM
areurecordings areurecordings is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

Hi thanks a lot!

I''ll experiment,....never thought about touch-sensitive faders,..ofcourse.
Grtz, René.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2004, 12:29 AM
Sean Halley Sean Halley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles,CA, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Mackie D8b - HUI mode

No problemo

S..
__________________
"it's not about making the changes, it's about playing ideas in time"

Scofield...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 and mackie control mode? Cyndicate Pro Tools 9 4 03-24-2011 04:29 PM
Does Mackie Universal Work in Jog Mode? Barry Johns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2006 03:29 PM
Mackie MUC Shuttle Mode in Protools Question Barry Johns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-18-2006 03:22 PM
Protools 6.4.1 & Mackie D8b Hui Mode? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-06-2006 07:58 AM
Mackie D8b Hui mode don B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-22-2003 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com