Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-04-2017, 02:09 PM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 981
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

I give the PT programmers the benefit of the doubt in figuring that certain kind of basic things that are missing (especially the ability to have more than one timeline open at once) are still missing because it would be a major deal to change (fix) them. I guess that might be true of greater interop between Avid MC and PT (WITHOUT AAF etc) as well....
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-04-2017, 02:38 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,846
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

I believe routing bussing on a digital console is more like muting every other bus. So not being able to, on the fly, change where a track is going is a DSP saving system. Let's say you have 1 track going to 60 different possible busses. You have to have the DSP for all 60 bussing on all the time to make that track be able to change bus assignments on the fly. If that same track is just going to 1 bus, you are saving 60x the DSP over the bus automation system. This might not be a big deal for a console with a huge chassis that can fit a huge amount of cards into but trying to fit enough chips onto a pcie card to do this is a challenge I'm sure avid can't do at this time.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-04-2017, 09:47 PM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 865
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiograce View Post
My template is similar ... I have the ability to route between 4 dialog reassigns and (2) 5.1 Dx Stems.... all using aux sends and pan follow. This does, however take up a good deal of system resources. I have a similar workaround for pre-post send automation. 1 set of Aux's POST, another (Muted) PRE.

As I said above, there are workarounds, just wish we didn't need them ... routing automation is a staple of post audio.

Peace,
Maybe your still trying to think console mixing within the virtual mix paradigm.
I've never run into a situation where I've needed more than the 2 DX re-assigns when mixing virtual.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-06-2017, 02:51 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 395
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
I believe routing bussing on a digital console is more like muting every other bus. So not being able to, on the fly, change where a track is going is a DSP saving system. Let's say you have 1 track going to 60 different possible busses. You have to have the DSP for all 60 bussing on all the time to make that track be able to change bus assignments on the fly. If that same track is just going to 1 bus, you are saving 60x the DSP over the bus automation system. This might not be a big deal for a console with a huge chassis that can fit a huge amount of cards into but trying to fit enough chips onto a pcie card to do this is a challenge I'm sure avid can't do at this time.
Fairlight can do bus routing automation. And automated Pre/Post switches for sends. I say this not to compare the two because Fairlight of course has it's share of limitations. But they can do this with a single FPGA chip...

I'd still like to see POST Inserts in PT. I think it could easily be implemented as a switch for the second bank of inserts. I rarely use that bank, but it would be nice to have the option for post fader there. In addition to the features mentioned above.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-06-2017, 07:02 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,981
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

I admit I haven't read thru the whole thread, and I'm shure most of you pros know this: output assignment of tracks can be multiple. Cntrl-click (mac) to add output assignment. I think many, like me for many years, are not aware of this.

My point is: you could always route stuff multiple places, then use mute automation. A workaround, of course.

Just my two cents.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-09-2017, 01:35 PM
audiograce audiograce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchman View Post
Maybe your still trying to think console mixing within the virtual mix paradigm.
I've never run into a situation where I've needed more than the 2 DX re-assigns when mixing virtual.
No ...
Haven't really thought in terms of any particular paradigm in quite some time. Really, I'm a guy who understands signal flow and wants to find the best possible way to finish my mix and keep my clients happy.

I use two reassigns in much the same way that you do. My third reassign is a FUTZ reassign.... and the fourth is a utility player ... sometimes it's an additional futz bus (for A/B Futs splits) and sometimes it for reassigning foreign languages (to keep our M&E people happy) and sometimes it for odd jobs like panning processed dialog differently.

My goal is to be as flexible and as efficient as possible. I'm able to do everything I want to within ProTools right now ... all via workarounds. I just would like to see Avid take the needs of the post community seriously and implement features the pro market needs so we don't need workarounds to accomplish these goals.

BTW Mark ... you still owe me lunch!

Peace,
__________________
...tg...
Warner Bros. Studios
imdb Credits
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-09-2017, 05:19 PM
Peter Cole's Avatar
Peter Cole Peter Cole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 92
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiograce View Post
Hey all...

Long time user, (Former Digi employee)...

Quick question:
Why isn't everyone in the post community making noise about the single biggest omission in Pro Tools mixing for the post community?

Routing and Pre/Post fader switch automation are important parts of everyday post mixing ... I'm aware that there are work arounds, but work arounds do not a complete toolset make.

Am I the only one who thinks this way? Looking forward to your ideas.
Pre/Post send switch automation is my biggest pet peeve! Also automated Pre/Post fader for inserts.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-11-2017, 05:45 PM
audiograce audiograce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Cole View Post
Pre/Post send switch automation is my biggest pet peeve! Also automated Pre/Post fader for inserts.
Agreed Peter...
My work around is to duplicate my sends. One being POST and the other PRE. I then mute between them. It's a pain, but it works.

Same with routing automation. And I hate having to use up valuable sends to do what the console should already do.

Anyway... hope all is well with you Peter. Devastated about Ed Greene.

Best always,
__________________
...tg...
Warner Bros. Studios
imdb Credits
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-15-2017, 07:27 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 305
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

Everything Frank said...

And for the record: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/117333
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.5 - Mbox 3 Pro ---- MacOS 10.12.6 - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM - SSD Startup Disk ---- AJA Kona LHi PCIe
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-27-2017, 02:03 PM
Steven1145 Steven1145 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 165
Default Re: Routing Automation - Why Isn't this Done?!

I may be old school in saying that I too miss automated routing in PT. DFCs have it, my System5s have it, and yes, Nuendo also had it (called direct routing, where you have 8 slots that can be filled with destination groups, busses, or FX, and then automated).
For the moment I use sends, for lack of a more elegant solution, but as I usually have a minimum of 4 (sometimes up to 6 or 8) reassign Busses for Dx, it can get a bit cramped...
So here is hoping that PT gets that eventually.

Sent from my Galaxy S7
__________________
Steven Ghouti
YELLOW CAB Studios
Paris, France

The studio FB page
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference between MIDI automation and Audio automation on Instrument Track? mariam Getting Started 5 04-28-2016 03:55 PM
Can't turn off capture automation on the automation panel tandem Post - Surround - Video 0 07-16-2014 09:36 PM
Routing out Logic 1 & 3, anyone know basic Logic routing? soundonsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-04-2008 10:42 PM
Routing in automation mik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-19-2007 05:52 PM
Automation Mixing - Bus Routing (very technical stuff) TheNoize General Discussion 18 07-05-2007 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com