Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2012, 09:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Magma ExpressBox 3T

Apparently the Magma ExpressBox 3T expansion chassis with Thunderbolt has passed muster at Avid. Fantastic that they show it working over the super long cable in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uw_jB...ature=youtu.be
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:21 AM
info@npp.co.uk info@npp.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

That video's a game changer for me. Seems far better to get a laptop (prob 15") than a tower
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 07:53 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Now if Magma would just make the darn thing available, that would be great.

Last I talked to them, it was gonna be mid-May. Same with Sonnet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 08:32 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Asking on behalf of a colleague: anyone know if TDM (HD) cards will be supported? My understanding is that, unlike previous chassis, OS X requires drivers from the card vendor (but for some reason Windows doesn't).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2012, 03:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Now if Magma would just make the darn thing available, that would be great.

Last I talked to them, it was gonna be mid-May. Same with Sonnet.
So it seems like the dates have slipped, comparing what you just wrote here and in this thread at the end of February (post #5): http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...81#post1925481

Kind of a shame, but hopefully it'll work no problem when it hits the mass market (and not just some pieces that were engineering-tweaked prototypes that went to developing partners).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2012, 10:06 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Yes, they have been moving the dates for about a year. I think this time it's finally for real.

On a separate note, I've contacted M-Logic, and they are looking to release theirs at the beginning of June. Theirs is single slot half space and only $399. So it won't accomodate HDX but will work for HD Native.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:35 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

laptops are build for portability not speed - everything as far as power is compromised.
slow buss speeds , slow processor speeds slow memory etc. Buy the time you add PCi cards interfaces mic preamps the portability issue become a moot point.
Wait and buy a Mac Pro the new Mac Pro's the Xeon X5 processors are going to scream.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
laptops are build for portability not speed - everything as far as power is compromised.
slow buss speeds , slow processor speeds slow memory etc. Buy the time you add PCi cards interfaces mic preamps the portability issue become a moot point.
Wait and buy a Mac Pro the new Mac Pro's the Xeon X5 processors are going to scream.
Kind of off-base there. The higher-end Mac laptops have computing power comparable to, and in some cases more than, the current MacPro desktops. If you wait for a new MacPro you'll be waiting a LONG time.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

if this is correct not to long
http://www.techpowerup.com/164479/In...g-in-June.html
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2012, 02:02 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Maybe, but I doubt it. And remember that Avid will probably take until the next Ice Age to qualify the new machine with ProTools.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried HDX with Magma ExpressBox 3T? janmuths Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 37 06-06-2020 11:52 PM
Some info on using Magma Expressbox 3T ronwasserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 01-21-2014 11:07 AM
Magma Expressbox 3T fan noise boxedin Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 05-28-2013 05:42 AM
Will Magma ExpressBox 3T add latency? digidesigner Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 02-19-2013 06:22 PM
Magma Expressbox 3T announced nst7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-31-2012 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com