Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2019, 07:40 AM
basehead617 basehead617 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Petaluma, California
Posts: 37
Default S6 for home project music studio?

Hi - I’m curious if anybody has splurged for some version of the S6 for a home music production rig. No film work, no huge sessions, just an 8 or 16 fader version using it for making music on your own.

I realize it’s overkill, but every video I see on it I think about how great it would be to have these features. Ever since using control surfaces like Maschine my creativity has exploded. It’s just so different than a mouse and keyboard.

I realize the S4 exists now, however the lower end faders would really bother me and the system isn’t much cheaper.

I’m considering starting small and getting an 8 fader S6 (maybe used or maybe just buying the modules without the $6k of extra hardware and rigging it myself). It could expand over time after all.

My only concern is that it’s already potentially more than 50% past its life cycle and already some things seem long in the tooth (the display modules are outrageously priced for TFT in 2019 - is there any chance the software could
be made to support iPads for display modules like S1?). If you’re a company who is an early adopter and builds in 10 years of depreciation and writes everything off it seems reasonable, but i’m worried about splurging and then being stuck with a big dongle in a few years.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2019, 08:17 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,014
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Have you looked into the S1?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2019, 08:44 AM
basehead617 basehead617 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Petaluma, California
Posts: 37
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
Have you looked into the S1?
Yes, I even mentioned it above.

You can’t do nearly as much on it... it goes without saying.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2019, 10:18 AM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 251
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

I really don´t understand, why the very expensive S4 has the same cheap faders as the S1 and S3... :-(
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2019, 03:55 AM
basehead617 basehead617 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Petaluma, California
Posts: 37
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Does anyone know if it’s technically possible to buy the S6 MTM and Automation modules and nothing else? Or does it just not work at all?

And if so, could you use S1 for faders and Avid Control on iPads instead of display modules?

Or is it impossible to simultaneously use multiple types of controllers?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2019, 06:02 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 795
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Greetings,

EuControl devices and WSControl devices have always been unique and independent of each other. The only exception to this is when the Pro Tools Control (Now Avid Control) tablet app was added concurrent with EUCON v 18.3. Users can now augment their S4 or S6 system by adding a single tablet running the Avid Control app - which can be handy for management, wireless surround panning, transport or triggering default or custom soft keys.

EuControl Devices :
S1, S3, Dock, Artist Mix, Avid Control

WSControl Devices:
S6 M40, S6 M10(+), S4




Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2019, 08:28 AM
basehead617 basehead617 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Petaluma, California
Posts: 37
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Greetings,

EuControl devices and WSControl devices have always been unique and independent of each other. The only exception to this is when the Pro Tools Control (Now Avid Control) tablet app was added concurrent with EUCON v 18.3. Users can now augment their S4 or S6 system by adding a single tablet running the Avid Control app - which can be handy for management, wireless surround panning, transport or triggering default or custom soft keys.

EuControl Devices :
S1, S3, Dock, Artist Mix, Avid Control

WSControl Devices:
S6 M40, S6 M10(+), S4
Thanks Jeff!

In that case, will S6 ‘work’ with only the MTM/Automation modules or does it just error out assuming there’s a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2019, 10:19 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 795
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

Although you will be missing out on a ton of the significant workflows (like VCA Master Spill, Expand Faders, Attention Zones, etc..) you could technically define a surface configuration with just a Master Module and an Automation Module. All Attentioning would have to happed via:

[Surface]
Touch Universe scroller then touch a track (Home Page)
Touch a meter on the scrolling meter bridge with option enabled (Home Page)
Touch a Track while in Attention Mode (Tracks Page)

[DAW]
Click on one of the 6 interactions from Pro Tools with option enabled:
Track Name
Fader
Edit Window
Plug-In
Pan Controls
Sends
Nudge Up/Down

With that said - you would want the Display Knobs From Most Recently Clicked DAW Area to always be set to Master Module since that's all you would have.


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2019, 04:29 PM
DHS DHS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 182
Default Re: S6 for home project music studio?

I have an S6 at work and an s3 and dock at the house. Perfectly happy combo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Home Owner's Insurance when Studio is at home Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-16-2010 04:34 PM
Mac Mini or iMac - Project Home Studio joe.cavers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-26-2008 07:22 AM
home studio project garett Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 01-31-2006 02:42 PM
Home Project studio building...help plz :D Finchy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-06-2005 12:47 AM
Studio interrior! Let's show them home/appartement /garage studio's :) Gr0und_Zer0 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 200 05-18-2003 06:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com