Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2010, 12:51 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default HD Native now on Digi website

Info is now up, in case anyone didn't know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:30 PM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

$6000 for a native protools while Logic sells for $499?

Who is Avids intended market with this high-end product? This is not a general consumer option. This is crippled high-end professional gear. If I'm paying $6k for protools, I would like to use my TDM plugins too!
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:38 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by IO Composer View Post
$6000 for a native protools while Logic sells for $499?

Who is Avids intended market with this high-end product? This is not a general consumer option. This is crippled high-end professional gear. If I'm paying $6k for protools, I would like to use my TDM plugins too!
This is more accurate. From the Airusers blog.


Here's a quick chart to show street prices and what the street price for an Avid system could end up at:

Apple Logic - $500
Apogee Symphony 64 - $995
Apogee Symphony IO - $1700
16 input card - $2000
16 output card - $2000

TOTAL - $7200

Avid Pro Tools HD FREE
Avid PT HD Native - $3000
Avid HD I/O 16in/out - $3650

TOTAL - $6650
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2010, 02:06 PM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Apple Logic - $500
Apogee Symphony 64 - $995
Apogee Symphony IO - $1700
16 input card - $2000
16 output card - $2000
Sure, but there are tons of hardware options for running other native software that are much cheaper. $6k or so seems to be the cheapest "native" option for PT.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2010, 02:14 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike connelly View Post
Sure, but there are tons of hardware options for running other native software that are much cheaper. $6k or so seems to be the cheapest "native" option for PT.
For example. Somebody who is just composing with Logic using samples and perhaps recording an occasional guitar, vocal etc. could pay:

$500 for Logic
$250 for Apogee One
= $750

The cheapest way to do this for Pro Tools Native is:

$3500 for Pro Tools HD Native
$3000 Avid HD Omni
=$6500

I would like to see less of a gap between Pro Tools HD Native and Pro Tools LE.

I also think that because of Pro Tools HD Native, Pro Tools 9 LE will likely not have ADC. This feature alone would help justify the cost for Pro Tools HD Native for many people.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2010, 03:07 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
For example. Somebody who is just composing with Logic using samples and perhaps recording an occasional guitar, vocal etc. could pay:

$500 for Logic
$250 for Apogee One
= $750

The cheapest way to do this for Pro Tools Native is:

$3500 for Pro Tools HD Native
$3000 Avid HD Omni
=$6500

I would like to see less of a gap between Pro Tools HD Native and Pro Tools LE.

I also think that because of Pro Tools HD Native, Pro Tools 9 LE will likely not have ADC. This feature alone would help justify the cost for Pro Tools HD Native for many people.
$500 for Logic
$250 for Apogee One
= $750

Surely a fairer comparison with this would be an mBox 3 at $549 ? No ADC perhaps but for many that's not a deal breaker.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2010, 03:18 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
For example. Somebody who is just composing with Logic using samples and perhaps recording an occasional guitar, vocal etc. could pay:

$500 for Logic
$250 for Apogee One
= $750

The cheapest way to do this for Pro Tools Native is:

$3500 for Pro Tools HD Native
$3000 Avid HD Omni
=$6500

I would like to see less of a gap between Pro Tools HD Native and Pro Tools LE.

I also think that because of Pro Tools HD Native, Pro Tools 9 LE will likely not have ADC. This feature alone would help justify the cost for Pro Tools HD Native for many people.
So Logic and Studio One are also hardware...?

Why don't people understand that you aren't paying $3500 for the software? You are paying $3500 for an interface card that out-performs HD1 for half the price.

Find me a 64 channel card+I/O+Software that isn't several grand. Then... find me one that connects to an ICON.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:14 AM
jtarbutn jtarbutn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hendersonville, TN USA
Posts: 94
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

[QUOTE=Dizzi45Z;1677807]For example. Somebody who is just composing with Logic using samples and perhaps recording an occasional guitar, vocal etc. could pay:

$500 for Logic
$250 for Apogee One
= $750

Exactly! Almost all my work on my system is mixing. Every now and then, an overdub. Why not let me have a true native version that I can use with my existing Digi system? Even if Digi (Avid) would charge me for ADC it'd be worth it as I already have the CPTK.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2010, 02:15 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike connelly View Post
Sure, but there are tons of hardware options for running other native software that are much cheaper. $6k or so seems to be the cheapest "native" option for PT.
yes, but by all accounts the new Avid I/O boxes sound as good as Apogee. Make sure it's apples to apples.

If all you want is cheap, then yeah, you're right.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2010, 02:31 PM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: HD Native now on Digi website

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
yes, but by all accounts the new Avid I/O boxes sound as good as Apogee. Make sure it's apples to apples.
You seem to be ignoring the fact that many users don't need 16 in and 16 out. You don't think you can get an IO box at that quality level for less than six grand?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native now on Digi website nst7 Post - Surround - Video 1 10-06-2010 06:17 PM
How do I BUY an update on the Digi website? Mike Harrison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 11-04-2009 02:23 PM
Digi-website slow Edo Peters General Discussion 2 01-01-2008 07:44 PM
About the video of MDW Eq on Digi website Alkimera General Discussion 1 10-11-2007 10:37 AM
Digi website kaput! Charouhas General Discussion 1 03-04-2001 04:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com