Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2003, 08:26 AM
halfguard halfguard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: fl
Posts: 610
Default what mixer do you have?

im just curious what mixer everyone use with their pt set up. im looking to buy one soon and need some opinions. i have a 002r.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:03 AM
werds mekani werds mekani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: cali
Posts: 172
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

digi 002r, mackie 1604 vlz. i likey, i likey lots.
__________________
complete the task correct or not at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:18 AM
storm-01 storm-01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 348
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

Quote:
digi 002r, mackie 1604 vlz. i likey, i likey lots.

I would agree. Mackie makes a great mixer for the price. Low self noise, and good mic pres. I use a 1402 vlz because it suits my needs better. Whatever you do, stay away from Behringer!

Stormy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:29 AM
PRS4LIFE PRS4LIFE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 389
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

How do you have it hooked up? just the direct outs hooked into the line in's on the back of the 002r? And if so, what do you do with the other mic pre's on the mackie?
__________________
iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM, Guitar Rig Session I/O, M-Audio Axiom25, Pro Tools 10.1.3, Mackie Mr8mkII Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:40 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

Soundcraft Spirit Folio SX. Sweet little mixer with nice British EQ. I also use the same mixer for live-stuff.

I can feed the mic-pre's to ptle using the direct outputs. That also gives dedicated gain and EQ per channel.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2003, 03:32 PM
lochgarman1798 lochgarman1798 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: England
Posts: 392
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

Soundtracs Project 8 Topaz 24/8/2, a dual inline desk 48 channels + FX on mixdown. I bought it new to use with my Fostex old E16 ,about 5 years ago.

I still can't get used to mixing with a mouse without a mixer although I don't use the Digi001 outputs for any critical tracks/channels anyway!

So when it's time for mixdown I send the PTLE tracks in stereo pairs via a Lexicon MPX1 FX Reverb used as a A/D converter! Until I get hold of decent quality ADAT converter that is? Everything is recorded through a Mindprint AN/DI Pro Pre Amp A/D converter.

Looks like my Digi001 is being used as large dongle for PTLE

Cheers JK
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2003, 04:09 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

Soundtracs SoloLogic 24x8x24 with VCA and mute automation. we mostly mix secondary tracks in PT "in the box", with a Mackie HDR 24/96 as our main machine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:08 PM
recordingguy recordingguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 360
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

I use A&H GS3000...
Stay away from Mackie, they are just as bad as Behringer, Mackie moved production to China...
Stick with Spirit by Soundcraft, They have great EQ and Pre's for little money, anything in the Folio line would be great.
__________________
recordingguy
Recording Guy's Studio & Sound
www.recordingguy.com
Cedar Rapids, IA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2003, 10:36 PM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Riverside CA USA
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

Yamaha digitals for me.
__________________
Phil O'Keefe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2003, 06:45 AM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: what mixer do you have?

You really need to take a look at what you plan on using this mixer for before you ask brands.

1. Are you going to be using it in "live" situations?

If you are going to be moving your board around alot (live shows, recording live ect...) you might want to look into brands like mackie. They aren't the best sounding, but they were built to stand up to the punishment.

2. Are you just going to use it for the mic pre's?

If all you want a mixing board for is to use the pre's on it, do you really need a board at all? I once had an alesis mixer that I had sitting around my studio. I never used it. I found that rackmount pre's usually have better quality and are much easier to transport. Why pay all that money for a mixer I wasn't going to use except for the pre's. Get a digimax or a octopre and you will have a much better result.

3. Do you want the mixer to have a digital out to go straight into pro-tools?

If so a digital mixer might be good, but this can also be acomplished with a unit like a digimax or octopre.

4. Do you want the mixer to also act as a controller for pro-tools?

If so I believe the yamaha digital mixers can do it. If you only want a controller, then you could get a mackie control or the cmlabs 8 fader pack.

It really depends on what you see yourself using it for.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to deal with Latency from Surround Mixer - Stereo Mixer. Spyderrp7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 11-02-2012 03:41 PM
Stereo dithered mixer with summing mixer? Brahamnesik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-16-2011 10:13 AM
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 12:11 AM
New pro tools le 8 program trying to hook up a mixer need help (old mixer) Dre_Note$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-28-2010 04:57 PM
analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-11-2006 05:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com