Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-06-2020, 12:46 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 342
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
There is no HDX software

Either they open CA limits for all CA or keep it as is. HDX hardware I/O is limited by the hardware you have
I meant "Ultimate" of course...what used to be called "HD" even though HD was also hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-07-2020, 05:33 PM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 985
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

It’s a shame they don’t do it. Just replace the cards. Then they could just rebuild those cards at factory and sell as refurbished. How much it would cost them?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-08-2020, 09:02 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 166
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Maybe it's to do with a certain revision of the FPGAs on the board? Swapping out BGA chips on an assembled board is not trivial.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-12-2020, 12:37 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

We've got an HDX2 system feeding SSL DeltaLink (DigiLink to MADI conversion) feeding our SSL C200 console with 128-IO. It could be because of the DeltaLink, but when I run DigiTest, it says there isn't any firmware on the HDX card. Could this be right, or is it looking for an Avid interface?

BTW, we do have 512 voices on this system, or is the OP meaning there's only 256 on a single HDX?
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-12-2020, 02:39 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,282
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

386 voices native vs. not 256 on HDX
With new firmware this could be 386 per HDX Card giving your system 772 voices instead of 512.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-12-2020, 02:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,322
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

384, but anyway. HDX should have got the voice upgrade in 2019.5 even if it broke some percentage of cards, just IMO
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-13-2020, 07:16 PM
grammymixer grammymixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Nashville
Posts: 10
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

If the HDX cards can't give the same voice count as a NATIVE / THUNDERBOLT interface, then Avid should be either A) replacing cards, or B) sending us all a refund check so we can go buy hardware that actually works.

It's ridiculous right now that I'm having to open sessions with my Apollo because I can't open them on my HDX card / interafaces that cost TEN TIMES what the Apollo twin cost. Who cares about AAX-DSP plugins??! They end up USING MORE VOICES anyways

Just saying.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-14-2020, 11:48 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 272
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
384, but anyway. HDX should have got the voice upgrade in 2019.5 even if it broke some percentage of cards, just IMO
Agreed. It's absurd that those with the most expensive Avid hardware get less voices than third party interfaces.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-15-2020, 10:40 AM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

When looking at specs on Avid's site, the info on voices for PT Ultimate has no disclaimer or extra info saying that the number of voices is less when using HDX. This seems deceptive, and I am certain that some people buying HDX were expecting to see these voice counts.

https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/comparison
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-16-2020, 03:00 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 342
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-tone View Post
When looking at specs on Avid's site, the info on voices for PT Ultimate has no disclaimer or extra info saying that the number of voices is less when using HDX. This seems deceptive, and I am certain that some people buying HDX were expecting to see these voice counts.

https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/comparison
Yes, I'm exactly in that boat! Bought HDX to circumvent the ever lasting problems with LLM, only to find out other system capabilities are actually much degraded when compared to HDN, which I was using before. They should really keep up to their promise. Would just be fair.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 HD3 TDM voice count? wtfil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-18-2014 09:52 AM
HD7 voice count Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 11-13-2011 02:08 AM
Advantage of More DSP's for Same Voice Count? SuperReverb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-01-2009 06:56 AM
PT HD voice count garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-05-2008 08:47 PM
Voice count for PT NT|24 Mix Euphony Sound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-21-1999 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com