Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2013, 11:40 PM
Aten Aten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 58
Default 192 I/O How to Install Analog Output Expansion Card

Hi Everybody

My 192 I/O only has the stock 2 Digital I/O cards in it at the moment.

I have purchased an Analog Expansion Card but it's connector needs to be connected to the 192 motherboard which is almost impossible to get to.

What do most people do? Send it back to AVID for installation or DIY? I couldn't find a YouTube video.

Thanks a lot,
Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2013, 05:49 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: 192 I/O How to Install Analog Output Expansion Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aten View Post
My 192 I/O only has the stock 2 Digital I/O cards in it at the moment . . .
Do you have the 192 Digital or the 192? The stock 192 has one open bay, with three cards (analog in, analog out and digital I/O). The 192 Digital cannot take any more cards, even though it looks like there are open bays.

You can download a 192 manual from the Avid site. It shows how to add cards.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2013, 04:18 AM
Aten Aten is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 58
Default Re: 192 I/O How to Install Analog Output Expansion Card

Hi Jack

I have the Digital version. I had no idea that there were different versions of the 192 & that the digital version cannot be upgraded. I have wasted my money here. Another reason why I am sick & tired of AVID.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2013, 06:49 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: 192 I/O How to Install Analog Output Expansion Card

Welcome to our high-tech society. Not knowing is no longer a reason for shifting blame, but I almost made the same mistake because the 192 Digitals sell for less money. What is further confusing is that the analog version of the 192 will work without all three cards installed.

It's not like you cannot sell what you bought. Chalk off the experience as a detour from aural nirvana.

I think the blue series HD stuff is a great compromise at its current price. If you want inexpensive stand-alone converters, don't overlook the 888/24. They are under $100 and an inexpensive way to convert into AES/EBU or SPDIF -- and they do not need any card or computer. Avid has the owner's manual online if you are interested.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign Avid 192 Analog D/A output expansion card for Pro Tools HD ghostwriter Buy & Sell 1 04-13-2014 05:35 PM
Digidesign 192 Analog Input Card and Analog output Card for Sale MusicEngineer Buy & Sell 1 03-03-2014 10:03 AM
Digidesign 192-DA Analog Output card $275 millionbit Buy & Sell 0 02-08-2013 04:58 AM
Digidesign 192 analog out expansion card steviemac74 Buy & Sell 1 07-28-2012 01:35 AM
HD 192 Expansion card Analog inputs 9-16 ixnys Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-17-2002 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com