Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2010, 04:26 PM
Doug Ring Doug Ring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Posts: 767
Default After installing Crossgrade, how would I reinstall from scratch?

I recently bought PT 9 LE crossgrade on disc and installed it on my 2009 iMac connected to an 003 Rack+ which was previously running PT 8.03. The install was smooth and it's all working fine.

After getting all the iLok licenses sorted I visited my Avid account pages and found that along with a load of other stuff I had the full PT 9 installer deposited as a download.

This got me thinking: How would I reinstall PT 9 from scratch, say on a new computer, if I only had my PT 8 discs and the PT 9 crossgrade? I guess that would work, but could be a lengthy process. So does the full installer deposit in my account mean Avid acknowledge I'm entitled to own the full installer as well?

I figure if so I should download both the Mac and Windows versions, burn them to disc and keep them for the future.

Anybody venture any thoughts on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2010, 04:44 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: After installing Crossgrade, how would I reinstall from scratch?

the cross grade affect the purchase price in that you got a discount for entering a hardware serial number.

how you choose to install is the updater or full installer. your choice and you have access to both.

after the serial is entered to get the reduced cross grade price the ilok asset authorizes the program regardless of how its installed.

Download the full installer and all the content and back it up!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2010, 11:53 AM
Doug Ring Doug Ring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Posts: 767
Default Re: After installing Crossgrade, how would I reinstall from scratch?

Thanks for that. Makes sense, I guess.

I thought at first that the discs I would get when I bought the crossgrade would be update discs only, but looking at them again and after what you've said it looks as if they're actually full install discs. There's certainly no mention of "crossgrade" printed on the discs: that's only on a cardboard sleeve round the outside of the box.

I'm still gonna download the installer from the site just in case though!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 10.2 update - reinstall??? Scorepio Windows 6 06-26-2012 09:09 PM
Need help, installing from scratch Drum3r 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-06-2011 07:52 PM
New 12 Core. Reinstall OS from scratch or not? Shifted Music Pro Tools 9 6 12-13-2010 08:56 PM
Installing PT HD From Scratch! James Lugo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 08-30-2009 11:07 AM
Installing from scratch on a new CPU. Andy R Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-28-2005 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com