Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2007, 07:06 AM
Gilliss Gilliss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Posts: 23
Default Exporting Markers to New Session

Hi everyone,
I'm trying to export the session markers in a very long voice-over session (about 8 hours, broken up in 1 hour blocks). I want to be able to take the mastered version I received and line it back up with the markers to make my chapter and section breaks (it's an audio book). is there an easy way to do this?
Thanks in advance!
__________________
Wave Creative Services
Frederiksted, St. Croix
US Virgin Islands
www.wave-creative.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2007, 07:13 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Exporting Markers to New Session

Two ways of achieving this, in 7.3 you'd check the Markers/Memory Locations box in the Import Session Data option or if you don't have 7.3 export the Markers as a SMF.








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2007, 04:54 PM
Gilliss Gilliss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Posts: 23
Default Re: Exporting Markers to New Session

Thanks filosofem, i've got 7.3 but i think what you're suggesting requires the digitranslater doesn't it? when i'm in the session that contains the markers that i want to export - the export menu is grayed out. so i'm probably missing something else. i've only started using pro tools for more advanced projects, all i did up to now was basic voice-over and one audio track, so i'm still learning.

i was thinking that i could duplicate the session, trash the regions, and clean up a bit and then import the audio i need. it's not as quick and easy as i was hoping for but it might be my only option.

thanks again,
Dave-G
__________________
Wave Creative Services
Frederiksted, St. Croix
US Virgin Islands
www.wave-creative.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2007, 05:13 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Exporting Markers to New Session

Quote:
export menu is grayed out.
You'll need to use Import Session Data








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:09 PM
Gilliss Gilliss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Posts: 23
Default Re: Exporting Markers to New Session

very cool! i gave it a try and it worked great. i did read that you wrote import session data, but i figured i was missing some obvious step that other people already knew. in the I.T. world we can't import something unless we've exported it from somewhere else, so that's where i was getting hung up.
thanks again, i'm off to import 10 hours worth of markers and audio.
__________________
Wave Creative Services
Frederiksted, St. Croix
US Virgin Islands
www.wave-creative.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2007, 09:40 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Exporting Markers to New Session

Quote:
in the I.T. world we can't import something unless we've exported
Yes, if you were to Import a SMF you'd need to Export the SMF first. Now, why this is not the case with Importing Session Data, I do not know or should I say, I have a thought but it may be incorrect. Maybe someone can chime in and explain just why that is the case.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing/exporting markers bassist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-17-2005 01:31 PM
Exprtng Multpl Session Markers 2 ONE MASTR SESSION The Boofer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-12-2005 01:25 PM
If I edit files after exporting to 2nd session, how is 1st session affected? el biciclista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-02-2002 01:01 AM
exporting markers as text? AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-05-2001 07:33 AM
Exporting Markers? Matt Stutter Tips & Tricks 13 05-16-2001 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com