Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2012, 02:12 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,550
Default Satellite link question

Can someone tell me if such a setup is possible with 3-4 PT rings connected via SL:

Master playback session chasing LTC from Studio controller and also being SL-master for all other rigs. 3 other PT rings setup as SL-slaves. One of the SL-slaves being a stem-recorder rig that needs to receive punch-i/o and record enable/disable commands via 9-pin from studio controller while.

Question is: Is is possible to set up a SL-slave so that is can still be a 9-pin slave as well but only regarding track-punch?

I´m trying to find a way to integrate a battery of PT rings into a traditional mixing stage with a option to play all PT-rigs from the master payback session without needing the transport controls of the console while still being able to slave all of them when hitting play on the console while one of the rigs needs to function as a stem recorder.
Not sure if SL is the way to go or a TC-based setup is the only way.

Hope this made sense.

Cheers,

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2012, 12:51 PM
sebanseban sebanseban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 4
Default Re: Satellite link question

Hi,

I am almost sure that only Administrator PT can be remoted via 9pin.
So, this PT station will be blocked by REM function.
In that situation it will not read informations from slave computers and will not work in SL.
In our system I am usually using two options.
1. One PT station is a source of LTC sync for few others PT and automation, but in this setup there is no way to use punch/play/stop etc.
2. Recording computer is slaved via 9pin with studio controller (DFC) and is source of LTC for other PT stations.
3. For predubs we are linking PT via SL to have option of starting playback from every station.

Generally we have lot of troubles with SL used with PT8.
There is well known bug in SL, System is stacking when hitting play.
Did not found fix for that. We are not ready for upgrade to PT 9 or 10...so the only advice is LTC.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2012, 04:12 PM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Satellite link question

I'm not sure exactly what you are asking, but if I understand correctly, you want to feed a master Pro Tool rig external sync and have it utilize Satellite link to run 3 or 4 other PT rigs.. This works just fine. We set this up in a couple facilities using various forms of sync ( 9-pin/LTC?HD tr-sync/SD video black, biphase, etc) feeding the master unit and everyone else happily chasing along. A lot depends on your house sync systems... feel free to call or email me to chat off line about details.

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2012, 05:07 PM
Branko's Avatar
Branko Branko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 595
Default Re: Satellite link question

No, he wants the "admin" to chase the external transport (console LTC or 9-pin) and 2-3 "satellites" to follow the "admin".
__________________
------------------------
Branko Neskov c.a.s.
www.loudness-films.pt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2012, 10:17 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Satellite link question

ahh.
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2012, 10:19 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,550
Default Re: Satellite link question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Branko View Post
No, he wants the "admin" to chase the external transport (console LTC or 9-pin) and 2-3 "satellites" to follow the "admin".
yes. and one of the satellites has to punch in out via 9-pin.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2012, 02:16 PM
SBP SBP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 307
Default Re: Satellite link question

Frank we have set up as follows

PtA -Admin -controls external decks via 9pin and Ltc
PtB -slave Pt Machine
PtC -Stem recorder -we use Colin Broad PD-1 to punch in/out etc -via 9 pin on this machine.
MC -for picture
Sometime we add PtD as additional slave

So it is possible to have stem recorder receive timing from Satellite link and track punch info only from 9pin.
I don't know if its possible to split the relevant bits out from your studio controller so it behaves the same as the PD-1.

We use Pt9

Hope this helps with your set up.

Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2013, 02:46 PM
darryl99 darryl99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Satellite link question

Hi Frank I have a similar setup. I think your SL Slaves don't really need 9 pin but your recorder needs 3 separate 9 pin controllers. One for each stem element so each element can control input, direct or punch. SBP I agree.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite Link & Video Satellite Link error on Pro Tools 9 HD 9.0.3 billegates macOS 0 09-24-2013 02:28 PM
Satellite Link Question mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 4 04-13-2011 06:16 AM
Confused with Video Satellite LE /Satellite Link kd_special Post - Surround - Video 0 12-02-2010 08:42 AM
Workflow question: D-Control + Satellite Link Greg Malcangi Post - Surround - Video 9 04-01-2010 09:00 AM
Question about Satellite Link IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-21-2009 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com