Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2019, 08:42 AM
PPM6 PPM6 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 53
Default MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

Bizarre. For the first time I'm using the MIDI on this interface.

The MIDI input works fine, but for some reason, despite selecting the correct MIDI channels in the Pro Tools mixer (in this case Clarett 8pre USB>CH1, 2, 3), there's no action whatsoever. All the audio works fine too.

Is there something I've missed in the Clarett's or PT's settings, or is this a faulty unit?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2016, 2.7GHz Intel i7, 16GB RAM, 500GB HD, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

Pro Tools 2020.5

Focusrite Clarett 8pre USB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2019, 12:04 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,350
Default Re: MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

How exactly are you using MIDI on the Clarett? You mention USB, but the physical MIDI ports on the Clarett will not show up as a USB MIDI port. I don't remember exactly how they show, but double check your routing.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2020, 09:42 AM
MattheWood MattheWood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: San Rafael, CA USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

Sorry, don't want to hijack this thread, but is the Clarett 8pre controllable via the Preamp controls within Pro Tools? I know this is usually reserved for their own Avid PRE interface, but some other preamps that have MIDI have also worked with this Pro Tools feature. Have you tried? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2020, 07:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,853
Default Re: MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

Have you setup a midi output path in Midi Studio?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2020, 10:55 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,311
Default Re: MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattheWood View Post
Sorry, don't want to hijack this thread, but is the Clarett 8pre controllable via the Preamp controls within Pro Tools? I know this is usually reserved for their own Avid PRE interface, but some other preamps that have MIDI have also worked with this Pro Tools feature. Have you tried? Thank you.

The Red 8Pre has this but that’s a function of RedNet Control. I don’t believe it’s part of Focusrite Control for the Clarett series.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2020, 05:06 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,350
Default Re: MIDI output not working on Clarett 8pre USB at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
The Red 8Pre has this but that’s a function of RedNet Control. I don’t believe it’s part of Focusrite Control for the Clarett series.
Correct; it is not part of Focusrite Control and can not be done with the Clarett series.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite Clarett 8pre X and PT 12 on Windows 10 NuclearMedia Windows 0 05-08-2019 01:50 PM
Artist Mix, Pro Tools, and Clarett 8pre gscaife Artist Series 3 01-06-2019 09:27 PM
Got my Clarett 8Pre working on my Lenovo P50 JCBigler Windows 6 12-27-2017 06:26 PM
FS: Focusrite Clarett 8Pre $625 Shipped joepopp Buy & Sell 0 01-20-2017 06:45 PM
Mbox Pro Not connected after installing Focusrite Clarett 8Pre Pehja FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 10-19-2015 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com