Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2015, 02:31 PM
dekstar253 dekstar253 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Default Playing back a 3840x800 Video in Video Window Across Three Screens?

Hi,

I have a weird setup for a client. They have a very wide video at 3840x800 that they would like to stretch across three screens.

I have three displays going via Matrox TripleHead2goDP and the computer sees it at 3840x800. So far so good...until...

Playing the video back out of the Video Window in PT 11HD; the video is not played back at 3840x800, but playing back within a window that looks like it's at 1280x720?

It's adding bars above and below the video as it's fitting the 3840x800 video w/in a window that's 1280x720.

Is there a way to make Pro Tools play the video back at it's original size and not try to fit it within the window? That way it'll stretch across the 3 screens.

Thanks for reading; any suggestions greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2015, 07:30 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Lightbulb Re: Playing back a 3840x800 Video in Video Window Across Three Screens?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dekstar253 View Post
Hi,

I have a weird setup for a client. They have a very wide video at 3840x800 that they would like to stretch across three screens.
You may have to wait for an update to the Avid Video Engine in Pro Tools v12.x. Pro Tools v12.2 currently uses Avid Video Engine v7.0.4.3. This version of the Avid Video Engine supports something that Media Composer users know as FrameFlex. This is where you can view a 1080i or 720p sized chunk of something that has a larger raster size (such as 3840x800). Media Composer v8.4 is the first version that supports playback of any raster size up to 8K.

Your other option is to use a Media Composer v8.4 system as a video satellite with Pro Tools.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems playing back video Heinbokel Pro Tools 11 6 09-27-2013 06:45 PM
Pro Tools 11 playing video back way too fast asaffulks Pro Tools 11 6 09-13-2013 07:41 AM
imported video not playing back? active Pro Tools 10 1 08-28-2013 06:37 PM
Video randomly stops playing back rnd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-23-2011 12:34 PM
Video Window Stopped Playing milet22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-28-2008 03:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com