Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-26-2011, 12:34 PM

Red face What is the seret of the pros.....

when it comes to great recorded guitar sound. I'm fairly new at digital recording but I'm an old timer on guitar. Over the years I've recorded in studios where the band just went in and recorded tracks but left the production and engineering up to the experts. I was usually pleased with the recorded sound of my guitar on these sessions. This was before Jimmy Hendrix and Clapton changed the sound of Rock guitar. I always preferred a clean but dynamic sound and at times on ballads, guitar sounds like Chet Atkins or Mark Knophler. Can anyone out there help me improve my home recorded guitar sound to a more professional level. I rarely record from my amp because of buzz and hum. Can anyone tell me if the ground lift switch on the direct box will prevent the noise from being recorded? Is there danger of electrical shock there if I lift the ground? I usually go direct in to the mixer via direct box. That seems to have helped some but it still sounds thin. My Fender tweed, reissue amp has a preamp in/power amp out circuit which the manual says is for recording and or effects loops but the retailer says that's a missprint and that it's used for two amps(?). How do the pros achieve that dynamic guitar sound?
Old 09-26-2011, 01:25 PM

Default Re: What is the seret of the pros.....

I'm no pro, but the facetious answer would be "lots and lots of experience." :) It's IMO a matter of knowing what you want and taking steps to get there.