Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:13 AM
BummyDavis BummyDavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

I have a iMac 27in and just hooked up my new mbox 2 mini. I have a MXL 990 microphone and it will not hook up. Hook up meaning I get no signal in the audio track. I have the 48v on and the Mic/ DI on as well. I'm sure there's questions you'll need to help me so please ask.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:43 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

Quote:
I have the 48v on and the Mic/ DI on as well.
Mic? DI? Which is it? You can't have both on the same input channel.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:49 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,187
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

Welcome to the DUC, BummyDavis.

This is the PT TDM forum. Please note that there is a forum dedicated to ProTools LE and its various hardware options, such as your mbox 2 mini (scroll down from from the DUC’s main page and you’ll see it).

While most of the PT software is the same for both platforms, each has its own set of exclusive compatibility requirements, features, issues and problems. Therefore, most answers to such will vary also—highlighting the wisdom of posting on the appropriate forum.


As for your specific issue, while I don’t own a mbox 2 mini, I suspect that with the Mic/DI switch in the “on” position (as you describe) you actually defeat the microphone’s input path, activating the DI input instead.

PS: Be nice to your monitors/headphones/ears. Mute the unit’s output while making changes such as the ones discussed here.

IHTH — good luck!
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2010, 01:01 PM
BummyDavis BummyDavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Mic? DI? Which is it? You can't have both on the same input channel.
It's a pressable button on the back of the mbox. It just says Mic/ DI. Should I assume if the button is not pressed it means Mic and if it is it means DI?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2010, 03:46 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,023
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

The switch should be OUT for Mic(in for DI). You also need to use a straight XLR to XLR cable(the quarter inch inputs do not get phantom power).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2010, 09:38 AM
BummyDavis BummyDavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The switch should be OUT for Mic(in for DI). You also need to use a straight XLR to XLR cable(the quarter inch inputs do not get phantom power).
Ya I have the XLR cable but the problem may be the XLR cable itself. The cable was sparking lightly. It's actually one I made a while ago... guess I didn't do it right. I'm gonna try another XLR. That may have been the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2010, 10:57 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PT 8 LE: Microphone Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by BummyDavis View Post
Ya I have the XLR cable but the problem may be the XLR cable itself. The cable was sparking lightly. It's actually one I made a while ago... guess I didn't do it right. I'm gonna try another XLR. That may have been the problem.
Yes, sparks are not a good thing in audio. Make sure the XLR cable is straight through, that is pin 1 to 1, pin 2 to 2 etc.

You may have one of the active audio leads going to ground. That would cause a spark from the 48 volt phantom supply.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microphone issue ... help? TDub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-19-2010 07:29 AM
microphone francod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-07-2007 06:14 PM
Mbox 2 + Microphone Issue globex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-30-2006 11:25 AM
mic pre VS microphone Help happasito Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-01-2005 08:26 AM
mic pre VS microphone Help happasito 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-01-2005 03:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com