Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2008, 12:56 AM
popps popps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tarana, CA
Posts: 219
Default Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

Running an HDII system on a dual G5. Has anyone using a similar set-up upgraded to PT8 and have any early impressions?

Any thoughts from anyone else about compatibility with my G5? (Current on Leopard.)

Obviously, a new Mac Pro is a better option, but trying to avoid buying all new HD cards, etc.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2008, 01:11 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by popps View Post
Running an HDII system on a dual G5. Has anyone using a similar set-up upgraded to PT8 and have any early impressions?

Any thoughts from anyone else about compatibility with my G5? (Current on Leopard.)

Obviously, a new Mac Pro is a better option, but trying to avoid buying all new HD cards, etc.

Thanks!
I doubt you will get any answers yet since PT8 hasn't been released yet but its rumored to be out any day now. I have a similar system so I'm sure I'll be posting my impressions soon after its release.
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2008, 01:34 AM
popps popps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tarana, CA
Posts: 219
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaphoron View Post
I doubt you will get any answers yet since PT8 hasn't been released yet but its rumored to be out any day now. I have a similar system so I'm sure I'll be posting my impressions soon after its release.
My bad... overheard some chatter today and must have misunderstood. Thought it was already out there. I've heard some varying reports on whether or not PT8 will be G5-friendly. So, I'll be anxious to hear your reviews.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2008, 04:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,727
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

I believe PT8 will be Leopard only, so perhaps there's the limitation; obviously, if your system handles Leopard well one could guess it would also handle PT8 well.

We'll see...

Snow Leopard (10.6) is supposedly not G5 friendly anymore, so perhaps we lose our beloved PPC support at that point?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:37 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

The preliminary compatibility information (which has not changed since the original announcement) says that computers which are supported under PT7.4.2 will be supported under PT8.

Quote:
Pro Tools 8 Preliminary Compatibility Information
Pro Tools 8 will support the same Pro Tools systems supported with Pro Tools 7.4 for Windows Vista and XP; and Pro Tools 7.4.2 for Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard). Additional compatibility information will be made available as we get closer to the release of Pro Tools 8.
Quote:
Tested — Qualified as Compatible
Power Mac G5 Dual 2.7GHz (model M9749)
Power Mac G5 Dual 2.5GHz (second generation model M9457)
Power Mac G5 Dual 2.3GHz (model M9748)
Power Mac G5 Dual 2GHz (third generation model M9747)
Power Mac G5 Dual 2GHz (second generation model M9455)*
Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8GHz (second generation model M9454)*
IMO, there would be lots of post facilities populated with G5s that would see having to upgrade to new Intel hardware a real disincentive to go to PT8.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:47 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,573
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Mac compatibility

While slower than 7.4, PT8 will be fine on a dual G5.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 10 compatibility djecaron16 Pro Tools 10 2 09-06-2013 06:34 PM
Pro Tools 9 and M box compatibility tombh Pro Tools 9 2 11-18-2010 06:40 AM
Pro Tools 8 and Mac G4 compatibility swgerow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-23-2009 11:53 AM
Compatibility from pro tools 7 to 6 ped Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-28-2006 01:56 PM
M-Box to Pro Tools TDM / HD compatibility ? SportsSounds Post - Surround - Video 1 12-17-2003 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com