Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2003, 09:12 AM
Luis4 Luis4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Default Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

Just installed PT/LE 6.01 Mbox on 400Mhz/800RAM OS 10.2.6 and noticed the cursor or timer cannot keep up with the audio. I've adjusted HD/DAE Buffers, CPU usage, etc., with no luck. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2003, 10:02 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

A 400mhz G4 doesn't really have a good enough video card to keep up with OSX, especially not when a processor hungry application like protools is running. You may want to consider getting a new video card, upgrading your processor or both.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2003, 10:45 AM
Henry Lee Henry Lee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

Slim's got a point. Or two...

I too have an aged /"vintage" G4 400 AGP. I opted for a modest Powerlogix G4 1ghz upgrade, and I'm simply amazed. The processor upgrade will definitely help more than a new video card. Your machine is an AGP G4 - correct? Not a Yikes?

I've got a Digi001 and I tried this Dave C thing again last night and got about 20 tracks. Which, btw,is something I personally will never attempt. But I thought I'd give it a whirl. My conclusion was that the test was a bit of self indulgent wankery and quite ridiculous for what I do, so I moved on to something a bit more ordinary. Say 24 tracks with a plug on each, maybe a master fader with an Waves L1. It works flawlessly.

Also, by the grace of some god / goddess, I have yet to encounter one issue with PT6 / OSX. (Well, ok I tried installing it on 10.2 and had no midi input. but once I actually read the friggin' giant sticker on the upgrade box "10.2.3 OR LATER", all has been well.) No crashes, no unexpected quits. Hell, I even managed to create my XML patchlists for my unsupported synths... and they work!

So your draggin / jumping cursor/ timer deal shouldn't be an issue once you get a new processor or machine.

Good luck,
Henry Lee
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2003, 12:08 PM
Luis4 Luis4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Default Re: Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

Actually, it's the vintage G400/PCI. However, I have a Radeon 7000 card installed and I'm able to run DVD Studio Pro and Premiere on Jaguar without a single problem. Also, my DVDs play just fine. I really don't want to spend $900.00 or $1.000.00 on a processor upgrade...the machine is simply too old to spend that much. Maybe I'll go back to run PT on OS 9 but I'm not going to spend more money just for PT 6.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2003, 08:04 PM
Luis4 Luis4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Default Re: Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

Thanks guys. I'd rather wait for the G5s too. After my last post I find out in the compatibility page that PT LE 6.0 DOES NOT support G4 PCI only AGP. So, that you have it. I should have read that before I upgraded. I can't believe Digi did that whereas Apple and Adobe were more considerate of our PCI machines. Thanks the suggestions anyway!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2003, 01:51 AM
Henry Lee Henry Lee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 105
Default Re: Dragging/jumping cursor/timer while playback

Louis,

Totally hear ya... my AGP barely makes the cut. If it were
a Yikes, I'd be looking for something like a used Quicksilver to hold me over until the G5 transition is reality. That's the
leap I've been waiting for.

Also, the 1ghx Powerlogix upgrade was $399. If hasn't already, it will probably go down in price even more.

Henry Lee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cursor Keeps Jumping To Start Of Session Analog Kid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-19-2012 07:32 PM
Cursor Jumping Problems since OS upgrade DeVille Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-25-2011 05:22 AM
PT 8: how to edit while its playing without playback jumping to where you click? marcnyc Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 12-25-2008 12:05 PM
Cursor Jumping Back garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-10-2008 12:56 PM
noise in monitors when dragging mouse cursor Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-30-2004 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com