Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Avid Cloud Collaboration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-05-2015, 10:17 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

I Care. Looking further down the road might help.

IMO:
Anger and bashing when stated platform is of no interest makes me think there may be too much time on hand.

I have no use for Sonar and or Propellorhead- collaboration but I'm not in their forum spinning my wheels.
The Avid Artist community (Now free) has been slow to show but is picking up in activity.

So as much as I find this all entertaining it remains user-hurt....
Just change the channel.

The concept for making music / recordings remains the same on any platform.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-05-2015, 11:52 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
I Care. Looking further down the road might help.

IMO:
Anger and bashing when stated platform is of no interest makes me think there may be too much time on hand.

I have no use for Sonar and or Propellorhead- collaboration but I'm not in their forum spinning my wheels.
The Avid Artist community (Now free) has been slow to show but is picking up in activity.

So as much as I find this all entertaining it remains user-hurt....
Just change the channel.

The concept for making music / recordings remains the same on any platform.
You may well be correct ;-)

But the REAL reason for my spending time slagging off something I don't want, is because there is a long list of things that I do want, and I'd rather Avid spent their time developing some of those things, rather than something few people seem all that interested in.

Is cloud collaboration top of the list of most wanted features over at ideascale?
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-07-2015, 10:09 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

"I'd rather Avid spent their time developing some of those things, rather than something few people seem..."

Or so far down the road that it's too early for current technology.


I agree as well and see your point of question.

"Is cloud collaboration top of the list of most wanted features over at ideascale?"

No. Not here either. (At least not through rental online software)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-20-2015, 01:13 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

I've been needing cloud collaboration since the first time I sent a session via FTP, (which was probably 1999).

I routinely send tracks out to editors for sound design, noise reduction, conforming, etc. Would be supremely helpful to have that stuff in the edit window. As long as it works!
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-24-2015, 10:23 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

I use copy.com and iCloud drive - while Avid has demo'd these collaboration features and even starting this forum it's clear that this not a priority for Avid.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-24-2015, 10:40 PM
knothardly's Avatar
knothardly knothardly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: W.R., Georgia
Posts: 312
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

not really understanding what everyone means by 'track freeze'... isn't THAT what the 'commit' function does? LOVE this new commit function in 12.3... best damn 'bounce' system i have seen yet. THANKS AVID!!! :)
__________________
i have never taken pictures of people in the nude... i usually keep my clothes on

KNOT HARDLY PRODUCTIONS LLP*
Knot Hardly Esquire
Farcebook Twatter

_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/
Window$10 FX4300 MSI970A-G46 16Gb AMD7870
_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

*a Limited Liability Persona
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-24-2015, 10:48 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,630
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

Not exactly, track freeze would let you unfreeze and make changes then refreeze
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-25-2015, 09:15 AM
knothardly's Avatar
knothardly knothardly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: W.R., Georgia
Posts: 312
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

well i am pretty sure in the commit options you can make inactive and bounce the track... then if you wish to change things you can make active, change them (all parts including effects) then commit and make inactive again and use the new bounced audio. basically the same thing if i am not mistaken. so i really don't understand the fuss about 'track freeze'. not trying to start a commotion just STILL keep hearing about people wanting track freeze. maybe it is from folks that have refused to upgrade to v12 and the 'track freeze' would work on previous versions?

me? i am more than happy with the commit function and it's option window. cheers
__________________
i have never taken pictures of people in the nude... i usually keep my clothes on

KNOT HARDLY PRODUCTIONS LLP*
Knot Hardly Esquire
Farcebook Twatter

_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/
Window$10 FX4300 MSI970A-G46 16Gb AMD7870
_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

*a Limited Liability Persona
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-25-2015, 09:32 AM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 766
Default Re: Who cares? Anyone?

Track freeze is cleaner. It freezes the track or bus in place. No new or extra audio tracks, needed. No need to make anything inactive or delete.

But...freeze has one issue. If you freeze a track, need to make a change. You unfreeze it, make the change and freeze it again. If you want to make another change. Unfreeze make second change, and freeze again. Now say you want to go back and fix change #1. You cannot do it.

With Commit you can because that track/bus is just inactive. I prefer commit.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-25-2015, 09:42 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,630
Default Who cares? Anyone?

honestly I have just used commit yesterday for the first time and it really is fabulous

However yes freeze would be cleaner, no new tracks to deal with, it's a commit in place


It will get here, but till then, commit is awesome
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 - Who Cares?? rus5 Pro Tools 11 41 06-25-2013 04:07 PM
If you are 1 that really cares about true tone/sound, YOU MUST... Keybeeetsss General Discussion 8 02-11-2012 05:00 AM
Someone cares! Postman Post - Surround - Video 3 01-03-2012 04:30 AM
No one cares about my songs? No criticism? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 02-11-2007 08:12 AM
Who cares about smokeless - look at the MIC IntelDoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-27-2005 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com