Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #351  
Old 06-25-2019, 03:56 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Change to Pro Tools Ultimate Renewal Pricing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
You only answered half my question, the part I thought I understood. I'll ask it again...



Will the price of Pro Tools | Ultimate Perpetual still be $399 next year (April 2020) ?



Or should I renew now to make sure it stays $399 until 2021?



Thanks.


Sorry guys I haven’t been paying a whole lot of attention since I parked my system more than 2 years back.

Will I be able to reinstate in another 2 years? I’m sure nobody really knows the future but what about if I wanted to reinstate in September, how much would it cost me would it even be possible?

Ultimate Perpetual license holder
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #352  
Old 06-25-2019, 04:10 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: Change to Pro Tools Ultimate Renewal Pricing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Sorry guys I haven’t been paying a whole lot of attention since I parked my system more than 2 years back.

Will I be able to reinstate in another 2 years? I’m sure nobody really knows the future but what about if I wanted to reinstate in September, how much would it cost me would it even be possible?

Ultimate Perpetual license holder
If you visit the first page of this thread, to check out the new price chart go into effect on July 1st, you will see that what is missing is the reinstate options in general. As we speak to reinstate PT Ultimate Perpetual license is currently priced at $999. There is no clear answer if that will still be an option after July 1st....
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #353  
Old 06-25-2019, 04:12 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 608
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Here's something not so funny. I own two iLoks with 2 separate Pro Tools perpetual licenses. One is for my studio mac where I have an Ultimate license at a yearly renewal cost of $399 (ouch!). One is for my laptop pc which I use in another office with Pro Tools Standard perpetual at $99 (now $199) a year.

I own ONE copy of Studio One Pro 4.5.x - I use it on both computers and could install the same copy on 3 more computers if I wanted with NO subscription cost whatsoever. When Presonus upgrades their software to version 5, I will gladly pay the nominal upgrade cost.

AVID's pricing, policies and business practices are based around pay now, receive upgrades/service later. So, so wrong. Avid is not Adobe. No other DAW really does this. Steven Slate does offer a subscription but at a very reasonable and consistent yearly cost of $150 and he always adds more every year.

Like a fool I just paid AVID $99 to avoid the extra cost after July 1 and you know what it feels like AVID? It feels like out and out right theft. It's the opposite of what a company should do. Nice going. NOT!
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Sierra PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #354  
Old 06-25-2019, 04:21 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 81
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin1524 View Post

I own ONE copy of Studio One Pro 4.5.x - I use it on both computers and could install the same copy on 3 more computers if I wanted with NO subscription cost whatsoever. When Presonus upgrades their software to version 5, I will gladly pay the nominal upgrade cost.
But..but...you don't have "free" Falcon instrument, neither a "free" plugin PRO bundle, "free" Loopmasters loops, "free" Sound effects, "free" BS, "free" bug fixes.....as a loyal customer!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #355  
Old 06-25-2019, 04:30 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 608
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
But..but...you don't have "free" Falcon instrument, neither a "free" plugin PRO bundle, "free" Loopmasters loops, "free" Sound effects, "free" BS, "free" bug fixes.....as a loyal customer!
What I have is paying something for nothing. It's like if I wrapped up a box, didn't tell you what was inside, and made you pay me for it because you really still need to use the product you've been using for the past 2 decades. Surprise! There's nothing in the box. Nada!
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Sierra PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #356  
Old 06-25-2019, 05:18 PM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 261
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
Thanks man.... btw what do you do down in Vic.... don’t happening to be a singer do ya?


No worries. I wish I could sing mate.
I’m terrible I’m a carpenter by day, a hobbyist by night. Play a few instruments, Jack of all trades master of none ha. But loving every second I can get on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #357  
Old 06-25-2019, 05:31 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Change to Pro Tools Ultimate Renewal Pricing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
As we speak to reinstate PT Ultimate Perpetual license is currently priced at $999. There is no clear answer if that will still be an option after July 1st....
Agh, very good...thanks

I’m sure they are trying the scare tactics to make people shell out.

Maybe they will get rid of reinstatement’s to force people to stay current


Weird times for sure
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #358  
Old 06-25-2019, 06:37 PM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 165
Default Re: Change to Pro Tools Ultimate Renewal Pricing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Agh, very good...thanks

I’m sure they are trying the scare tactics to make people shell out.

Maybe they will get rid of reinstatement’s to force people to stay current


Weird times for sure
This does feel like a desperate money grab doesn’t it? And people have been shelling out too by the sounds of things. I am paid up through April 2020, but it is tempting to hand Avid one more handout of 99.00. If this was the plan, it would be horrendously short sighted as these accounts would account for zero revenue until the plans come to maturity.
Reply With Quote
  #359  
Old 06-25-2019, 07:53 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

I spent a considerable amount of time researching DAW’s including Studio One, I thought it was a real step backwards and reminded me of Cubasis on my iPad. It will be a while before it comes close to what PT is now and by then PT would have moved on. Did they ever get it to work with their StudioLive desks like they promise they would about 3 years back? When I last checked about a year ago they hadn’t and they had some scathing customers going off on their community website. Anyways good luck to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin1524 View Post
Here's something not so funny. I own two iLoks with 2 separate Pro Tools perpetual licenses. One is for my studio mac where I have an Ultimate license at a yearly renewal cost of $399 (ouch!). One is for my laptop pc which I use in another office with Pro Tools Standard perpetual at $99 (now $199) a year.

I own ONE copy of Studio One Pro 4.5.x - I use it on both computers and could install the same copy on 3 more computers if I wanted with NO subscription cost whatsoever. When Presonus upgrades their software to version 5, I will gladly pay the nominal upgrade cost.

AVID's pricing, policies and business practices are based around pay now, receive upgrades/service later. So, so wrong. Avid is not Adobe. No other DAW really does this. Steven Slate does offer a subscription but at a very reasonable and consistent yearly cost of $150 and he always adds more every year.

Like a fool I just paid AVID $99 to avoid the extra cost after July 1 and you know what it feels like AVID? It feels like out and out right theft. It's the opposite of what a company should do. Nice going. NOT!
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.5 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #360  
Old 06-25-2019, 07:55 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Haha no probs man, it’s all fun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige108 View Post
No worries. I wish I could sing mate.
I’m terrible I’m a carpenter by day, a hobbyist by night. Play a few instruments, Jack of all trades master of none ha. But loving every second I can get on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.5 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update on Upcoming Creative Tools Price Adjustments | 7.1.19 Avid General Announcements 1 06-27-2019 11:47 AM
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 03:29 PM
Protools 8HD upgrade price? pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 10-08-2008 12:30 PM
Protools HD to "HD II" upgrade price speculation....? N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2007 05:13 PM
G4 price drop in July? Mike Brosco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 07-10-2002 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com