Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2020, 05:50 PM
EVaschon EVaschon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 9
Default Midi Troubles, cannot hear MIDI track

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Pro Tools and I so far have managed to surpass quite a few hurdles by just watching multiple videos and doing Google searches. Now that my first song project in this program is almost complete, I turn my program on and for the life of me, I cannot get the midi information to play. 

Here is what I’m working with:
  • iMac, 27” desktop computer (2019) macOS Catalina
  • Pro Tools Version 2020.5
  • Kontakt Player 6 / Native Instruments
  • Yamaha PSR-EW300 Keyboard

Here are the things that I’ve already checked and didn’t work:
  • The track with the midi is NOT muted
  • The track with the midi is not a part of a group of instrument(s) that is muted
  • The track volume is not turned down
  • The instrument that I am trying to play through Kontakt 6 is a grand piano. When I click onto the keys shown at the bottom of the program, I can hear the piano notes.
  • There in only one instrument using at it is set to: Output st. 1, Midi Ch: (A) 1. (Which seemed to work just fine when I initially played it onto the track.
  • The mix channel in the Pro Tools, Mixer window displays my Instrument track as “Kontakt, MIDI in Channel 1. (Output is 1-2).
  • The track voice selector is “dyn”

I’ve watched 4 videos now for people who have had trouble getting midi to play through Pro Tools and none of them have helped. Someone please tell me what I’m missing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 08:35 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Midi Troubles, cannot hear MIDI track

Try this:
1. Check that your keyboard shows up in the menu item "MIDI input devices"
2. Create a INSTRUMENT track, not a midi track.
Insert a Pro tools plugin "Mini Grand" (to eliminate any possible Kontakt problem) on it.
3. Rec enable it, and press a key.
Oh, and also make shure the instrument track is selected, that its name is highlighted in the mixer and edit windows.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2020, 04:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,506
Default Re: Midi Troubles, cannot hear MIDI track

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Try this:
1. Check that your keyboard shows up in the menu item "MIDI input devices"
2. Create a INSTRUMENT track, not a midi track.
Insert a Pro tools plugin "Mini Grand" (to eliminate any possible Kontakt problem) on it.
3. Rec enable it, and press a key.
Oh, and also make shure the instrument track is selected, that its name is highlighted in the mixer and edit windows.
And in the MIDI tab of PT preferences make sure that 'use first selected track' is selected for 'default thru instrument'. That way you don't have to record enable a track.


As a general thing when checking MIDI issues I like a free utility program snoize (for Macs) or MIDI-OX (for Windows) as a diagnostic tool. Run it outside of PT and it will tell you what messages are coming through from your external MIDI gear.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:11 PM
EVaschon EVaschon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Midi Troubles, cannot hear MIDI track

Hey Ben,
Thank you for taking the time to try to help me with this crazy situation. I'm trying not to get frustrated with this but I'm trying everything you folks are throwing at me and nothing is working. Would you be willing to do a Zoom meeting with me and I could share my screen and you can see for yourself what is going on here? Also, I purchased the Mini Grand plugin, only to find out that the new Catalina macOS will not allow it to be installed. I only get a message saying that it is incompatible with this new OS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2020, 06:15 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: Midi Troubles, cannot hear MIDI track

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVaschon View Post
Hey Ben,
Thank you for taking the time to try to help me with this crazy situation. I'm trying not to get frustrated with this but I'm trying everything you folks are throwing at me and nothing is working. Would you be willing to do a Zoom meeting with me and I could share my screen and you can see for yourself what is going on here?
I'm sorry, I'm afraid I can't do that.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't monitor/hear midi by highlighting the midi track and playing the keyboard jgagne1 macOS 4 01-18-2015 08:42 PM
Can't hear my midi plugin instrument unless track is armed? Sergius macOS 2 12-16-2010 01:12 PM
Can't hear midi track when recording digi555 Tips & Tricks 4 01-04-2009 12:57 PM
Midi Track Troubles with PT 7.1 mrguitarguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-26-2006 06:12 PM
Aux track to hear Midi? atom k MIDI 6 04-09-2003 12:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com