Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2020, 04:49 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,627
Default iLOK betweens

Good afternoon everyone.



I have just acquired another Mac Pro. Am I able to move my iLOK 3 remove my iLok and plug it in the other Mac to use. Of course it would only be used on one particular Mac at a time.



I'm think this would be a great opportunity to / and a back to see how well my upgrade stability is, and have a older version on the ready.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 07-26-2020 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2020, 05:50 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,979
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Of course.

That’s the whole point of a physical dongle... the ability to use your purchase plugins/licenses anywhere by simply taking your iLok with you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2020, 06:49 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Not only can you move the iLok.. but if you are using these to do staggered installs for testing etc. then remember you can clone a drive and install that clone on the other Mac Pro after testing... as long as all Mac Pro meet minimal system requirements like boot PROM versions etc. You can even connect the Macs and go use target disk mode over Firewire to clone the boot drive between machines. All just a really nice way of ensuring that when you do run both systems at the same OS/Pro tools level that they really are identical.

These 5,1 Mac Pro are great... especially with upgraded GPUs, SSD, and USB 3.1 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2020, 07:13 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Not only can you move the iLok.. but if you are using these to do staggered installs for testing etc. then remember you can clone a drive and install that clone on the other Mac Pro after testing... as long as all Mac Pro meet minimal system requirements like boot PROM versions etc. You can even connect the Macs and go use target disk mode over Firewire to clone the boot drive between machines. All just a really nice way of ensuring that when you do run both systems at the same OS/Pro tools level that they really are identical.

These 5,1 Mac Pro are great... especially with upgraded GPUs, SSD, and USB 3.1 etc.



WOW !
I'm such a noob.

Run both systems at the same time (don't follow?). like two computers working as one >? *sorry, I feel really dumbish right now.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2020, 07:19 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,952
Default Re: iLOK betweens

No one said at the same time but with the same OS/PT/Identical drives for when you switch between them. You can only use one computer at a time with one ilok license.

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
WOW !
I'm such a noob.

Run both systems at the same time (don't follow?). like two computers working as one >? *sorry, I feel really dumbish right now.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2020, 07:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Run both systems at the same time (don't follow?). like two computers working as one >?
No you use each one separately, but at some point you likely want to match the OS and software installed on one to the other... and you can do that via cloning to a drive and then cloning that back to the other system. But cloning from one Mac to the other in target disk mode (... where one Mac just looks like a disk drive to the other is a very handy thing to know, e.g. https://technology.siprep.org/clonin...ost-el-capitan). Having two macs on different versions of stuff is great for testing... but when you want them to be the same... then make them *exactly* the same by cloning after you know the install you want to clone works. In this sort of setup I'd often have multiple boot drives/partitions/containers installed inside the Mac Pro... able to boot all Mac Pro to identical levels or boot say one of them to a test level... then you are set up for quick recovery from problems.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-26-2020 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2020, 09:22 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Right on, I grasped it now. Now what's the general consensus on containers ?. I haven't read much about any major problems except one person I believe who is not liking APFS.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2020, 09:39 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,239
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Right on, I grasped it now. Now what's the general consensus on containers ?. I haven't read much about any major problems except one person I believe who is not liking APFS.
If your macOS versions support it I would move to APFS.

It's more optimized for SSD but it's robustness on HDD should be better than HFS+.

If you have not already (sorry I've forgot, lots of folks here have...) I would consider moving to NVMe drives on your Mac Pro, M.2 drives in PCIe slot adapters, lots been written on DUC about that before, ... and if I did that I would definitely be running APFS on those drives (well you have no choice but to in recent macOS releases). And folks even have Catalina running on the classic Cheesegraters, but that may be a little more brain surgery than many folks might want to do.

I'm not advocating you just leap in and upgrade macOS or change filesystems, but I am definitely saying you should want to eventually get to APFS... it's a positive not a negative. HFS+ was a tired old file systems, NTFS on Windows was more robust/advanced. Do some reading about APFS, especially to understand what containers do, and how nicely flexible they are. With iOS devices included this is one of the most widely used filesystems, in the world. And hopefully you are already making clone backups using Carbon Copy Cloner, and you can continue doing that with APFS drives. Now you have a second Mac Pro you could do all this playing there first.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2020, 10:26 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Right on, I grasped it now. Now what's the general consensus on containers ?. I haven't read much about any major problems except one person I believe who is not liking APFS.
IF you have SSD's, and IF you have the operating system to support APFS it's the way to go. Advantages like snapshots and containers w/volumes sharing disk space, but be prepared that you have to learn to think about disks/partitions/images and Disk Utitlities in a new way. And TimeMachine is not ready for it yet. You can mix HFS+ and APFS containers on drives, but it can get confusing.


When it comes to drive formating and partitioning just don't do anything rash, and be backed up.
If you buy a new SSD, of course it must be APFS.

I've used mac disk utilities a lifetime and I'm still learning about APFS.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.6.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-27-2020, 09:41 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,627
Default Re: iLOK betweens

Thanks folks, greatly appreciate the great info.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - HIGH SIERRA - PT 2020.3 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iLok License Manager Released - Now Supports iLok Cloud Managed Mode unkJE Licensing & Accounts 0 10-10-2019 04:07 PM
ilok issues - ProTools 9 crossgrade LE (Please install the iLok Client Software) pauledwards Windows 3 09-10-2013 04:02 PM
Plugin auth weirdness - guest iLok prevents internal iLok? Scott Helmke VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 09-07-2011 07:06 AM
Can You Transfer iLok Licenses To A New iLok If Your Old iLok Is Broken? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-07-2009 03:51 AM
Transfer iLok auth. from old iLok to new 003 factory iLok? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2007 07:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com