Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2020, 12:41 PM
snowplaysmusic snowplaysmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 9
Default Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point

I often have a clip that holds a verse, and the end of the clip boundary marks the end of the verse. At that point I want a smooth second recording to transition to, let's say, a chorus. So I position my cursor at the clip boundary. Record enable. Add some pre-roll. Hit record and play the same part during pre-roll, so when the recorded spot kicks in, there's similar waveform and less edit noise. Though sometimes I miss the downbeat by playing a tad early. In that case I miss the transient in the second take. What can I do here? I do not see any way to fix this if the transient was just not recorded. Is my workflow common or weird for this use case?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2020, 03:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,728
Default Re: Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point

If you use quick-punch, once you record a take, you can drag the font of the new clip back(IOW, it was recording even before you punched in).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2020, 06:43 PM
snowplaysmusic snowplaysmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Ann Arbor
Posts: 9
Default Re: Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point

Oh this is amazing, thank you. I found this reading helpful https://www.soundonsound.com/techniq...ch-track-punch
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit selection point Daryl Hughes Pro Tools 10 4 02-17-2013 11:04 PM
The missing point... nate11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-24-2009 09:14 PM
Beat Detective cuts off beginning of transient Slideman Tips & Tricks 3 11-05-2002 12:10 AM
Moving Edit Point altalake Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 05-24-2002 04:35 AM
missing audio at beginning of track! guitates Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 01-23-2001 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com