Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #171  
Old 08-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 208
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

I knew there was a way. Still trying to wrap my head around this. So versatile it's a bit overwhelming. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 08-09-2020, 08:55 AM
Sparemonkey Sparemonkey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Cambridge, Ma
Posts: 1
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Hello. Im new to the unit and so far its great. Just want to check how everyone hooked up their outboard gear? Output of the studio MTRX to the inputs of the gear? Ive never used a digital patchbay before. I feel im overthinking this a bit since on a patchbay im used to it would be outs to outs etc..
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 08-10-2020, 11:29 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 298
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparemonkey View Post
Hello. Im new to the unit and so far its great. Just want to check how everyone hooked up their outboard gear? Output of the studio MTRX to the inputs of the gear? Ive never used a digital patchbay before. I feel im overthinking this a bit since on a patchbay im used to it would be outs to outs etc..
I have the full fat MTRX not the studio but I looked into this before I bought it.
You may still want to use an analogue patchbay with your MTRX Studio.

Say you had 3 devices on inserts, a compressor, and EQ and an analogue colour box and you wanted to chain them serially.

If you use DADman as a digital patchbay you will have multiple ADA stages to deal with, which introduces latency with each step.
Much better to have an analogue patchbay, chain them in the analogue realm with one digital to analogue and one analogue to digital conversion.

If you never want to be able to chain devices together then it is less of an issue.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"Why I decided to buy an Avid MTRX"

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...y-to-avid-mtrx
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 08-19-2020, 08:11 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 423
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Hi all,


I am seriously considering a mtrx studio. I currently have:


avid hd i/o 16x16
2 192's 8x16 each
avid omni
focusrite red 16line
focusrite pcie card
hdx 1


Im running dual setups between Pro Tools hdx and Studio One off of the same 2010 mac pro.


So getting to it I have a few questions:


1. how does the mtrx studio sound in comparison to hd io, omni or focusrite 16line? I read thru pages of setup posts but nothing regarding the sound of the actual box. Is it an improvement or just on par. How close is it to its big brother?


2. Regarding hardware inserts, am I to understand that that when using the digi link that I would have to manually enter the delay compensation values per sample rate? I work with multiple sample rates so this could be a drag. With the hd i/o its automatic. I'm running 2020.5 so is there no profile for the mtrx interfaces yet to automatically handle this? Is it in the works and is there and eta?


3. if i connect to protools via dante pcie how would i handle hardware inserts delay compensation?


4. With the trs outputs vs the dsub line outputs, are the trs outputs simple mirrored outputs as per the omni or separate like the focusrite 16line?


5. can i switch from dante to digilink via front panel?


thanks in advance...


warmly,


ej
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 08-19-2020, 03:25 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
Hi all,


I am seriously considering a mtrx studio. I currently have:


avid hd i/o 16x16
2 192's 8x16 each
avid omni
focusrite red 16line
focusrite pcie card
hdx 1


Im running dual setups between Pro Tools hdx and Studio One off of the same 2010 mac pro.


So getting to it I have a few questions:


1. how does the mtrx studio sound in comparison to hd io, omni or focusrite 16line? I read thru pages of setup posts but nothing regarding the sound of the actual box. Is it an improvement or just on par. How close is it to its big brother?

My opinion, though I’m Avid and a fanboy, is that the MTRX Studio sounds absolutely excellent.


2. Regarding hardware inserts, am I to understand that that when using the digi link that I would have to manually enter the delay compensation values per sample rate? I work with multiple sample rates so this could be a drag. With the hd i/o its automatic. I'm running 2020.5 so is there no profile for the mtrx interfaces yet to automatically handle this? Is it in the works and is there and eta?

Yes, correct. You would need to input manual compensation numbers until we implement that functionality directly in Pro Tools.

3. if i connect to protools via dante pcie how would i handle hardware inserts delay compensation?

Same conversation, you would need to input manually calculated values. The end of the MTRX Studio guide contains a delay table.

4. With the trs outputs vs the dsub line outputs, are the trs outputs simple mirrored outputs as per the omni or separate like the focusrite 16line?

They are discrete not mirrored. AD 1-2 are Mic/DI switchable, AD 3-18 are line level DB25, DA 1-2 are TRS and could be used for stereo nearfields in your monitor profile. DA 3-18 are line level DB25. DA 19-20 and 21-22 feed the integrated dual headphone Amps.

5. can i switch from dante to digilink via front panel?

Monitor sources, yes. Patching in the cross point matrix - no? That would require DADman.



Jeff


thanks in advance...


warmly,


ej





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 08-22-2020, 01:27 PM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 208
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

I'm trying to get an Atmos signal from a Blu Ray player into my MTRX Studio. I can get from the Blu Ray to receiver but then out of the receiver how into the MTRX? What would be the best way to be able to route that Atmos signal?
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 08-22-2020, 03:10 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Your only option is likely going to be balanced analog audio outputs to feed into MTRX. Unless you have a way to decode - ala a Trinnov or other processor in order to convert to a digital PCM stream.


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 08-22-2020, 10:51 PM
Goombot Goombot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 208
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Right. Thanks Jeff.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 08-25-2020, 03:30 AM
zakkwylde13 zakkwylde13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Hi Guys

How do you like the MTRX Studio ADDA?

Is the speaker processing only on the analog DA or can it also be applied for digital outputs?

Would it be possible to make the following setup:

- Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
- Avid MTRX Studio
- Avid HD I/O 8x8x8

Setup: Digilink 1 from HD Native to MTRX Studio, Digilink 2 from HD Native to HD I/O?

Of course sync loop or wordclock between the units.
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 08-25-2020, 05:17 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: First steps with MTRX Studio

Speaker processing can be used on analog OR digital output sets.

Yes this will absolutely work.

Your MTRX Studio will have 32 bidirectional channels that could be used for Dante and ADAT in addition to the 18 analog inputs.

Your HD IO will have 16 channels of IO connected to port 2 of your HD Native engine.

Either Loop Sync or Word Clock are viable synchronization methods.

Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: MTRX 2x 8 Line Input Pristine Card 1x MTRX SPQ Card antonis Buy & Sell 9 04-11-2020 06:47 AM
Still no specs on MTRX Studio Avid? corp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 51 04-02-2020 05:31 PM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 6 01-31-2020 09:15 AM
analog console, next steps for my studio badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-28-2003 08:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com