Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2019, 01:41 PM
lgsmiousic lgsmiousic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Montreuil
Posts: 3
Default pro tools 2019.10 makes the CPU always running at max frequency

Hi,

I am running pro tools 2019.10 with 10.14.6 and i7-7700K

After launching pro tools and just let it open (without opening any sessions) the CPU stays at its maximum frequency and never decrease (i monitor frequency with intel power gadget) making more fan use to keep the temperature low.
The frequency is also at max after opening a session

Does pro tools disable the OS CPU power management ?
Is that weird behavior a regular one for pro tools ?

Many thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture d’écran 2019-11-12 à 22.20.28.jpg (42.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2019, 08:51 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,298
Default Re: pro tools 2019.10 makes the CPU always running at max frequency

The frequency, or clock as it's usually called, is just the speed that your processor is running at. It's always the same. If you quit PT, it won't change. The number you should be looking at is the botttom one, utilization, it's at 8%. 92% unused. Don't worry about it. Make some music.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2019 suddenly running out of memory? monnecka Pro Tools 2019 0 11-12-2019 01:12 AM
Spanner on S6 running 2019.5.1 quadraphonics Avid S6 17 11-11-2019 11:53 AM
Install pro tools 2019.10 over 2019.6? Clarkston Guy Pro Tools 2019 6 11-01-2019 08:12 AM
Does Pro Tools have a frequency response? barismanco123 General Discussion 21 09-22-2014 01:06 PM
Frequency Spectrum Analyzer Plug In For Pro Tools? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-25-2003 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com