Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2017, 11:31 AM
James Lugo James Lugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 55
Default Mac/Sierra/PT11 question.

If I'm running a 12 Core Intel Mac Pro Tower can I upgrade the OS to Sierra while running Protools 11 HDX? Is anyone doing that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2017, 11:40 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,563
Default Re: Mac/Sierra/PT11 question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Lugo View Post
If I'm running a 12 Core Intel Mac Pro Tower can I upgrade the OS to Sierra while running Protools 11 HDX? Is anyone doing that?
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Official word. Of course you can clone your drive and give it try. Or maybe someone around here has tried?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2017, 02:54 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,518
Default Re: Mac/Sierra/PT11 question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Official word. Of course you can clone your drive and give it try. Or maybe someone around here has tried?
Or split the system drive into two boot partitions with Sierra on one. Of course it's always good to have a clone of a working system.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2017, 10:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,135
Default Re: Mac/Sierra/PT11 question.

Is there a reason you don't want to use Yosemite anymore? Something you really need that Sierra brings to the table?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question for 11R with PT11 mikefont Eleven Rack 7 03-06-2015 04:26 PM
Reamp with PT11 question sk8te4free7 Pro Tools 11 0 02-01-2014 04:07 PM
PT11 w 10/CPTK question pasanta Pro Tools 11 4 12-28-2013 04:17 PM
Reaper and PT11 Question gtomassetti Pro Tools 11 6 07-27-2013 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com