Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2011, 04:40 AM
allstaar's Avatar
allstaar allstaar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 416
Default Midi recorded early

Alright, simply put when I record a midi track the recorded notes are not where I played them but earlier than during the take. It's confirmed by bussing the instrument track to an audio track and recording the audio at the same time as the midi.

It appears to be buffer dependent. Midi note on events are ~1572 samples earlier than played with a buffer of 512.

Before I start digging into this problem I just thought I'd pick the brains of those here and perhaps save myself some time. I've searched and not found anything conclusive except perhaps this is just a fundamental thing that's still "broken" in Protools. Hopefully not.


Below is the system I was working on ;

iMac 2.66 GHz 4GB Ram OS 10.6.6
Mbox 2
Protools 9.0.2
H/W Buffer 512 samples, 1 Processor, CPU 85%, Delay Comp none, Ignore errors unchecked.
3 Tracks, one audio, one instrument ( Xpand2 - Pop kit ) and a click track.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2011, 03:17 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Midi recorded early

I have experienced this as well and since I can simply nudge or spot drop the midi back I haven't played around with the auto delay compensation added to PT9, but I believe you can make the offset using that. I use virtual synths to create music in PT and know the delay of playback and recording is being compensated in some way.... If I have time this weekend I will poke around and see what happens....

Let me know if you come up with a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2011, 03:27 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Midi recorded early

Too busy.... never got around to playing with it...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recorded audio placed 40ms too early peteage FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 09-11-2013 08:05 PM
Recorded are sounds playing back early?? thierryhenry macOS 2 03-12-2013 11:26 AM
re-recorded tracks early by 34 samples ? john1192 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-09-2007 10:34 AM
Recorded Tracks are .040 seconds early kevinb511 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-16-2007 08:28 AM
Click plug in is early when recorded stormpro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-13-2006 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com